We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and pretty but busy and loud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Ranked #23 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spend one night at this hotel and it was a very busy night at the hotel. THere were different events going on so it was very busy. The person at the front desk was not overly friendly and seemed annoyed. When we tried to sleep we could easily hear people in the halls and could hear the people in the adjoining room clear as day. It was very hard to sleep with all of that going on. The rooms were clean and pretty with nice views. It is right on a boardwalk but you could not hear noise from it. overall, it was an okay stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELR90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agyei O, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear ELR90,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments as they enable us to further improve our service and the very high standards our guest expect. Please know that we have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travels bring you back to Charlotte.

At your service
Guest Loyalty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,224 - 1,230 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel in roughly ten years. My company utilizes this hotel periodically for regional meetings. The grounds, lobby and lake behind the hotel are all very impressive. This is a full service hotel, and the staff is great. Very warm and friendly front desk staff. I was greeted by the valet and concierge even though I self parked. The rooms are spacious and recently updated. The room was very clean. I was on the Executive Level, which features a lounge with a great view of the city. My only negative is that the HVAC unit in the room was a bit loud; not so loud as to interfere with sleep, but I was aware of it all night. Other than that, this was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agyei O, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Kent B,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted that you selected our hotel again during your resent visit back to Charlotte. Please know your comments regarding our HVAC unit have been shared with our management team for the purpose of bring improvements. We look forward to your quick return to Charlotte!

Sincerely,
Guest Loyalty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night during a business trip. The room was nice. King bed with a L desk & chair. Didn't feel cramped at all. The bathroom sink had been upgraded. Bathroom seemed large enough to close door etc. Many dining options in walking distance. There was even a live band across the lake. Staff was very accommodating. Location is right off the interstate. Breakfast was great as well. No complaints!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachbreeze66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agyei O, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Hello Beachbreeze66,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the amenities we provide. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels brings you back to Charlotte.

Sincerely
Guest Loyalty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I came in with a group for a wedding. This was my first visit to Charlotte. We couldn't have had a more positive experience. After a nine hour trip in the car we were hungry and asked someone a suggestion for dinner and found out about the Taste of Charlotte on the Boardwalk. Had a wonderful "taste" of food and jazz that was close--didn't have to leave the parking lot. We were able to walk around and enjoy the waterfront. We found the hotel clean and stocked with everything we could need. The reception at the hotel was wonderful and everyone was kind and helpful. Thank you for making this a very comfortable experience for someone so far from home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agyei O, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Hello Laura L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at Hilton Charlotte University and Charlotte as a whole. We are delighted you had a chance to enjoy the taste of University area restaurants and what the area have to offer. We look forward to your quick return to Charlotte soon.

At your service
Guest Loyalty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My niece and her bridesmaids used the Parlor and connected king room the night before the wedding. My niece, the Beautiful Bride, ate well, slept well and was ready for hair and make-up at 6:00 Saturday morning. The make-up artists were able to take care of the bride, her bridesmaids, aunt and future mother-in-law. The photographer had beautiful backdrops to use thanks to Hilton Charlotte University's location and the facilities provided for our use. The pond and gazebo as well as the bridal suite was great. Plans for their one-year anniversary to be held their are being discussed by the wedding party. It was lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Malvina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The room itself was big, getting into the room was a hassle, the door swung open and right in the way was a coffee table, which made for a difficult time getting in and out with suitcase. Also the bathroom was small. Had to stand over the toilet to use the sink. Had to straddle the toilet to close then open the door. Carpets in hall need to be cleaned.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great room, comfy bed and low lights. The bar was nice and relaxing. Walked around the lake, fed the ducks, ate at Billys on the Boardwalk, and walked back to the Hilton. Great accomodations :) I would recommend this Hotel and Staff to anyone needing a getaway with all the luxuries for a real getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Eagle Lake
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte
Eagle Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Charlotte University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Charlotte University Place

Address: 8629 J M Keynes Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262-8426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#16 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $114 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Charlotte University Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside multistory hotel & adjacent tower located mins. from University of North Carolina-Charlotte & Charlotte Motor Speedway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Charlotte University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Charlotte University Place Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing