We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Ranked #23 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We needed a place to stay before heading to Carowinds, we had a gift card for Hilton, and the reviews for this hotel were stellar; it was certainly worth a shot. Good call! This hotel is terrific. The room was large and comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the overall setting was lovely (lovely enough that there was a wedding taking place while we were there). We were in town just for a quick overnight, but we still managed to take advantage of the pool and the boardwalk area. No idea what the food is like (we had dinner and breakfast out), but the hotel is convenient to plenty of restaurants if you're so inclined. The only drawback is the location - it's a bit of a drive to Uptown and most attractions. Still, if you need to be in this part of Charlotte or you don't mind a little drive, this hotel is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,276 - 1,282 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was an excellent Hotel to stay in for Business, staff was helpful and friendly. All rooms were clean and well maintained. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Charolotte North Carolina Area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Excellent hotel for the location, dining, shopping, and outdoor recreation. My family and friends love the lake with a walking trail. Boardwalk Biilly's is our favorite spot to eat lunch or dinner. All of this is within walking distance of this Hilton and the executive suites with lakeview are awesome! Clean rooms, comfortable beds. No jacuzzi or hot tubs on site or in rooms- such a bust for a great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton University Place for business purposes for 2 weeks. The staff was excellent, rooms very well maintained and the beds are very comfortable. The breakfast buffet is great!! There is a good selcetion of breakfast items that include fresh cut fruit, made to order omelets, eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes or french toast, bagels, muffins and cold cereals. Great place for business meetings as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I hate to do it...I really do. I am a "Hilton" family guy. But I believe that this was the worst hotel stay of my grown up adult life.

I arrived at the hotel at about 4PM. Not a soul at the valet desk, even after waiting about 15 minutes and checking in. No one around. So, I had to self park...not the biggest issue, but still - why offer valet and not provide the service?

Checked in to find out my room type wasn't available, so I was out into a room with an inferior view, instead of the lake view I booked. And what a room it turned out to be...

I'm really, honestly not incredibly picky or high strung. But the smell in this room was pretty awful. It was musty, moldy, old sweat-socky smelling. It felt the same way it smelled - wet, damp, Blah. Luckily, I had to go to work soon after checking in, so I asked at the desk to have someone maybe freshen the smell a little...no luck there. The smell and wet remained even after returned 4 hours later. On the upside, I did have new towels, so that was nice. But not even the A/C on full could remove the damp, musty feeling of the tiny corner room (xx35).

Here's where it got really nasty. I had to get some ironing done for the next day's travel. So I opened the closet door to get the iron and ironing board. I saw something drop from door jamb. I presumed it was paper, or maybe the in-room dry cleaning thing. I wish...turns out it was a 3" giant bug. Now, I'm a country boy. Bugs are OK. In their place. I don't think their place should be in the closet of a musty smelling full service Hilton property. I chased it around for a little while, and then finally dealt the death blow with the edge of the bathroom garbage can.

Back to the front desk with photos and video of the grisly mess. Got 50% off my room rate. And a drink in the bar. I made sure I got something that came in a sealed bottle - who knows what the food prep areas look like.

Sorry Hilton brands, this hhonors Gold guy did not have a pleasant stay here and I was a little surprised at the resolution, too.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room ending in 35.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Thought my husband and I was gonna get away for a weekend away from home and sleep out in a Hotel still with the convienience of a fridge for cold beer and wine, and heat up some extras from leftovers from the Resturant on our 12 wedding Anniversary,but was surprise not at the Hilton. i guess i will say sometime cheaper is better

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Nathaniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The place is all redone. Love the cucumber water. Rooms are really nice. The best part is the bed spreads are washed every day. Nice touch.It's a great area. Lots of shopping available too. The staff was very friendly as well. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebP407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Eagle Lake
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte
Eagle Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Charlotte University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Charlotte University Place

Address: 8629 J M Keynes Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262-8426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#16 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $114 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Charlotte University Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside multistory hotel & adjacent tower located mins. from University of North Carolina-Charlotte & Charlotte Motor Speedway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Charlotte University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Charlotte University Place Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing