We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in the University Place area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Ranked #23 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This Hilton is modern and well-managed. Rooms are not large, but are very comfortable and have 40" LCD TVs. There is a large mall/shopping center nearby, many good restaurants, and is far enough removed from the center of Charlotte to use a car to get around.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side face South and have a view of the businesses in the area. Rooms on the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sensei52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,358 - 1,364 of 1,646 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

I've stayed at the Hilton University Place several times, and I'm always very pleased with the experience. The hotel staff is very friendly and attentive, rooms are comfortable and well appointed and the location is great. There are several decent restaurants within walking distance -- which means you don't have to jump back in the car to have dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinVtDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I have stayed at the Hilton Charlotte University Place hotel many times on business. My company has a large conference there annually, and we are constantly pleased by the quality of the hotel and the staff. The staff are very pleasant and helpful, rooms are nice, food was great, pool area is very nice. The sales and banquet staff, especially Erin Brown and Marek, are top notch. Could not ask for a better team to work with! They take care of us and anticipate any problems or needs we may have. Our conference is very large, and we credit much of the success to their team and the efforts that they put into making our event seamless!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGC1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

First of all- I want to thank Daniel, Mike, Gary and the housekeeping staff. Why you may say? Without staff like those, this Hilton would just be another building. A gorgeous facility. The floor to ceiling windows left me with a breathtaking view of the city of Charlotte (yes a distance away) but still could see the lights of the skyscrapers (and if you know anything about Charlotte- thats the most amazing thing). The king size bed was great. Yes the bathrooms are small. But do you really rent a room based on the bathroom? I know I dont. I would definitely stay in this location again. And I hope to come back and see you again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timickus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Check in and out ran smooth. The room was spacious but the bathroom was very small. My coffee pot did not work the whole time of my stay. And as always the housekeeping forgot the main essentials! No sugar!!! And after a long day of work I returned to my room with the way I left it in the early morning hours! No clean towels, bed not made and no coffee or sugar. I don't think I will be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTruthHasBeenTold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djgdjgdjg, Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I have spoken to our Housekeeping team in regards to the issues you faced to help make sure others do not face the frustration you faced. We look forward to having you back to the hotel in the future to show you this is not a regular occurance at the Hilton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

For a Hilton property this was a disappointment. Location is great, check-in was a breeze and front desk staff very pleasant.....however the rooms need a major gut job. Bathrooms are very small with sinks that sit above the counter and look nice but are not functional. Tile/tub and flooring are all old school. Plumbing noise from other rooms can be disturbing to some. Sheets/pillows were fine but beds are on their last leg. Temperature was diffucult to control in the room. Gift shop in the lobby was nicely stocked and convenient.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailingaway65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djgdjgdjg, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with your guest room. Our guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration, in fact, I have made sure to pass your comments to our corporate offices to ensure that we can continue to provide customers with the best hotel experience. We hope you can give us another opportunity next time your travels bring you back to our area..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Recently stayed here on business (conference). The conference was located in the hotel. Overall this place is very good: the rooms were clean and spacious, the conference space was comfortable and functionable, and all the food i ate at the conference was excellent. The business center was fully equipped, a fully functional gift shop, and very helpful staff. Room service was quick and the food very good. Breakfast, although expensive, was the freshest, best tasting I have had on the road-worth the price. One interesting feature about the hotel is that it is located in the center of shops and surrounded by strip malls- all with in walking distances but not so close as to be a distraction or cause you problems sleeping at night. Food choices was limited
one or two chain resturants and a mexican place are right out side along with a few pubs. Overall not a bad place to spend a few days if business leads you to Charlotte.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water feature (East side) are fine, just request a room on the 7th floor or higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Eagle Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Airport
Eagle Lake
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Sleep Inn University Place
#83 of 180 in Charlotte
227 reviews
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Charlotte University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Charlotte University Place

Address: 8629 J M Keynes Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262-8426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#16 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $125 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Charlotte University Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside multistory hotel & adjacent tower located mins. from University of North Carolina-Charlotte & Charlotte Motor Speedway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Charlotte University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Charlotte University Place Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing