We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You owe it to yourself to stay at the best. Hilton Charlotte University is it !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Ranked #20 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You owe it to yourself to stay at the best. Hilton Charlotte University is it !”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

What a wonderful experience it was to stay at this well appointed hotel. The rooms were spotless, comfortable, and inviting. The staff, especially the Guest Loyalty Manager, Melissa Ewert, could not possibly be more professional and hospitable. The quality of the food in the restaurant, as well as the service, was superb. The location was ideal. It was close to the major highways, shopping, and other restaurants. I felt as much at home away from home as is possible at this hotel. I highly recommend anyone who wants a truly extraordinary travel experience to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindamny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    916
    377
    141
    78
    36
See reviews for
326
251
76
726
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

This is a nice property that is on a lake with a boardwalk that has a few restaurants and lots of shopping all around it. The staff was very friendly, the property itself is a bit outdated but seems to be well taken care of. Rooms were very clean and parking was free which is a plus with a Hilton.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taniarod2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2011

The hotel is immaculate and the staff is consistently friendly and attentive. I paid a little extra for the executive room, but the entire hotel looked clean, contemporary, and well kept.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fasas66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2011

This is a very nice hotel in a beautiful location with several nearby restaurants and shopping areas. The only reason I gave this location a 4 on location is because of it's distance to the CLT airport. Attendees at your conference had better be prepared to shell out $42 each way for taxi service. However, the hotel does have a very nice limo service with discounted rates (cheaper than the taxi) but we didn't know about this service until we arrived on site.

Service was excellent for the most part! There were a few minor snafus but nothing that wasn't quickly and efficiently dealt with.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NTaylor79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Sounding area was great food, bars and pharmacy walking distance from the front of the hotels. Building is older and needs cosmetic renovations. Sidewalks near front door had small amount of litter. Smoking benches in need of TLC. Marble in lobby looks to never be polished, sad shore it was not a cheap investment. The hotel staff was outstanding and friendly good knowledge of surrounding area. My room felt outdated and the tile floor felt dirty. The bathroom was clean and felt clean but the same tile as out side. Mattress had no signs of bed bugs though they could spend some time cleaning behind furniture. The View from my room was assume I must remember to bring a camera next time in town. The TV service was oncommand and your never let down by the SD services they provide a hotel! Room had a 40" TV and easily connected my personal laptop. I will defiantly stay here again just for there free Internet service was outstanding no need to upgrade to the payed service. I used my home network as if I was in the next room. No additional cost access to my sling-box made me feel at home and relaxed. I don't know why there a paid option when the free service is more than needed. I had no issues accessing my company VPN but as normal corporate email was slow. Meeting space was large. There was two old paid type business PC on a wall and a little further down the hall was the business center with free color printer. With all the positive I personal found at this Hilton I will try too book here again and look forward to spending some time at the pool in a future stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travaswego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Like the title, the Hotel was nice. No problems with the room, fairly quiet but noisy elevator, try to be at least 3 rooms away if you can if you're a light sleeper. The food is the restaurant was really good, which is surprising for any hotel restaurant. For a full service Hilton, the free internet was nice, but the connection wasn't. Other than that, no big surprises either way.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prolix50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, SC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. the room was spacious and the staff was very friendly. the room had huge window with natural light and a view of water. it had a nice flat screen tv for my husband to watch basketball. it was a typical hilton with no free breakfast. we didnt eat at the restaurant so i dont know how their food is. there are a lot of restaurants near- qdoba, melting pot, thai, buffalo wild wing, total wine (not a restaurant, i know). the bed and pillows were really comfy.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scjulie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#45 of 178 in Charlotte
2,003 reviews
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#32 of 178 in Charlotte
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Charlotte University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Charlotte University Place

Property: Hilton Charlotte University Place
Address: 8629 J M Keynes Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262-8426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#16 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Charlotte University Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside multistory hotel & adjacent tower located mins. from University of North Carolina-Charlotte & Charlotte Motor Speedway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Charlotte University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Charlotte University Place Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing