We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room OK, Neighborhood Not So Much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport North
Ranked #93 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
north carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Room OK, Neighborhood Not So Much”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here overnight for an early morning flight. The room was satisfactory and the staff accommodating though not very knowledgeable about the surroundings. They recommended a diner across the street which we tried. My food was inedible and my husband's borderline. The place was crowded with suspicious looking characters and we encountered several in the parking lot. We heard people on the airport shuttle the next morning speaking about ladies tapping on their (first floor) windows during the night. We chose another hotel for our return trip which happened to be not so far from this one. There was a decent restaurant next door which we could have used before had we been told of it (within walking distance of the first one). Although I'm not sure I would want to walk too far in this area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irsmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    191
    125
    62
    35
See reviews for
178
134
90
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
353 reviews
260 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I almost gave this property 4 stars. I stayed in room 433 standard king room.

This is an older property that has had some updates over time and is not run down like other hotels in this price category.

PRO's

• Big room
• Good bed with decent bedding/sheets, hard pillows though
• 32” flatscreen (although these are expected now)
• Big work desk, with second “nesting” desk underneath
• Fairly clean
• Price. Good Value

CON’s

• Accepts pets, I wasn’t affected by any pet issues, but seeing dogs in the halls makes me nervous
• Only two outlets for electronics at work area
• Wood-like flooring looks odd, but functions fine
• Dated bathroom
• LONG delay for hot water
• Light-Moderate air traffic sounds

Overall I would give this property an 80/100 and 88/100 for value. I would consider staying here in the future, but would also look elsewhere beforehand.

Room Tip: See if Pets are nearby or if your room had pets in it beforehand
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YepBeenThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Very political, helpful and courteous staff. Breakfast is simple, room is clean. Free wifi and a mini fitness center... Great hotel.. For overnighting. Free shuttle service every half hour to airport. Area is quiet but also walking distance to restaurants

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayordee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Not bad. Seemed a little bit older but had new flat screen tv's. We stayed twice, both before and after a flight out of Charlotte. Very convenient to the airport. We stayed in a room with a king bed and pull out sofa with our family. There was a microwave and fridge in the room too which we didn't use. Had breakfast the morning that we flew out. Definitely more than enough especially with the fresh made waffles. On our return, we checked in at 11:30 pm but had no problems. Only little complaint is that the pull out sofa sheets were not as clean as I would have liked them to be. Although it is a pet friendly hotel we did not see or hear any pets, so they do a good job of giving everyone their space. The price was right and we would consider staying there again if we were flying out of Charlotte.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chanss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
246 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Busy but not beaten up airport hotel. An older style, purpose-built La Quinta not some rebrand hotel. The place is actually nice and well maintained. Not perfect but good enough for more than one night.
Part of a hotel cluster near airport. Nice area near airport and close to downtown. The choice of restaurant within walking distance is a bit lacking. More choice just a minute drive away.
Good strong wifi.
They have small room with one full bed. Perfect size for one if you are a solo traveler.
One big miss is that there's no luggage rack at this property. No armless chair in room, no place to really put your luggage but the floor.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 48Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Eagle Lake
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South
Comfort Suites Airport
#75 of 178 in Charlotte
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn & Suites
#124 of 178 in Charlotte
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport North

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport North
Address: 3127 Sloan Dr, Charlotte, NC 28208-2447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#56 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, LaQuinta, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Charlotte Airport North Hotel Charlotte
La Quinta Charlotte
Charlotte La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing