We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel experience ever!”
Review of Regal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Regal Inn
Ranked #157 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Lexington NC
1 review
“The worst hotel experience ever!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My friends and I decided to take a trip to Charlotte for the night and made reservations online for this hotel despite the other reviews. IT WAS THE WORST MISTAKE EVER! The hotel is filthy, rundown and full of sketchy residents that made us all feel unsafe. The continental breakfast is a JOKE. Stale bread and cereal with hard muffins. I was so embarrassed to have chosen this place online. The hallway smelt of old dust and mold and the room had a awful odor as well. NEVER NEVER NEVER! PLEASE DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY. This is a crack motel to say the least.

Room Tip: Take the reviews into consideration so you dont waste your money like we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE_Ramada_Charlotte, Front Office Manager at Regal Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We're very sorry to find out that you were unhappy with your stay here at Ramada. Given the opportunity we would have done everything we could have to make your stay a better one. Shortly before your visit here with us, management/ownership has changed. Many upgrades & changes have been made since your visit, so if you're ever in the Charlotte area again give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    19
    19
    39
See reviews for
27
17
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here August 3rd to go to the Allman Brothers concert at the Verizon Wireless Amphitheater! It was close to lots of things (hungry howies being a must for us college kids). The hotel was great for the price honestly. I have no complaints, the room was great. Free breakfast and pool was open. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE_Ramada_Charlotte, Front Office Manager at Regal Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We always love to hear that a customer had a good experience while staying here with us. Please come visit us again if you're in the Charlotte area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Horrible smelling room..feces found under toilet seat..pubic hairs and red stains found in bed and on comforter. Worst hotel room ive ever been in. and when calling for housekeeping we were met with long holding times.never stay in this hotel! I would rather sleep on a park bench. I will never stay with Ramada again..horrible standards.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stepoffl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE_Ramada_Charlotte, Front Office Manager at Regal Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We were very upset to find that your room was unsuitable. The room that you received was definitely an error on our part. We would have never put someone in a room that was dirty on purpose. This definitely is an isolated incident that is not part of our standards. We have high standards and want every customer that stays here to be happy and comfortable. We care about our customers needs, opinions and we welcome positive/negative feedback that will make us a better hotel in the long run. Thank you for your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

To start, a large sign greeted us as we pulled into the parking lot " lock your car , remove your valuables ". Not exactly a way to make one feel safe, but moving on. The lobby and check in are next. The florescent lights flicker giving one the feeling that the power was ready to blink out at any moment, the " store "where you might pick up any small item you may have forgotten was dismal a few scattered items on dusty shelves. Check in was uneventful (yeah) next to the room. Upon opening the door I like most immediately flip on the lights....not here. The switch does not work so I stumble through the blackness and locate a lamp that works. The light revealed large dark spots scattered throughout the carpet. Microwave had been glued down and torn back up leaving glue and stripped furniture around it. The mini fridge contained the remnant of someone's previous dinner . The remote for the tv did not function ( not surprising ) . There were no towels in the bathroom. Upon turning down the bed I was disgusted to find a fair amount of hair on the sheets not like they had opened a super cuts in there but enough to know that those sheets had not been washed prior to my arrival. They did change the sheets...thank god. On the plus side, good water pressure.and the mattresses were comfortable. This would only be my "LAST" resort if staying in Charlotte, NC.

Room Tip: Avoid like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brock M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, Manager at Regal Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback. Our investment/management group recently acquired the property. We are working hard to raise the standards of our service and the property. We welcome you to stay with us again, and we would like to offer you a special discount – 20% off our published rack rate*. Simply print this email, and present it to the front desk agent during your next check in. We look forward to showing you our improvements. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Andy Patel

*Discount subject to availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candler, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

this hotel is not a bad hotel. however, management is a different story. rooms were decent, however pool was not open when i stayed on May 19, nor was it even being attempted to open. I made my reservations two months in advance off ramada.com.... went back to the website a month later and saw the room rates were now cheaper. i called the hotel and asked if i could get the cheaper rate, i was told yes, i could actually get a rate of $59 with tax included... because it was such a good deal, i booked 2 rooms.... when i arrived at check in, a lady who i believe was the manager said the rate was $65 on one room and $67 on the other room. but she did say that was the price with tax included. She could not provide an answer as to why 2 identical rooms were different prices. She barely spoke english. also when checking in, there was someone else arguing about being overcharged as well, that should have been my cue to leave!... upon checkout, the same lady then told me the room was $75 and $77... she looked me straight in my face, and said never said it was with tax included when i checked in. she pretended to call wyndham, but i believe she was calling for something unrelated to me, she could provide no explanation and did not offer to fix the problem, she told me there was nothing i could do but accept it. beware of this place!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maegan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, Manager at Regal Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback. Our investment/management group recently acquired the property. We are working hard to raise the standards of our service and the property. We welcome you to stay with us again, and we would like to offer you a special discount – 20% off our published rack rate*. Simply print this email, and present it to the front desk agent during your next check in. We look forward to showing you our improvements. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Andy Patel

*Discount subject to availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Ramada was a pleasant surprise. The exterior could use a little sprucing up, but all in all, it worked out well. The rooms are clean and have refrigerator and microwave. Most hotels in the area raise their prices for Speedway events. This Ramada does not GOUGE you! Their rates are very reasonable. Parking is plentiful, and the lot is well lit. I did not feel unsafe there, but I did not see security cameras on the property. The staff is extremely friendly, from the front desk people to the landscapers. Breakfast is adequate, and you can always find something to eat. Coffee is free ALL day, a nice convenience. TV's are old style 25 inches, but get all the cable channels, and function quite well. Climate system worked flawlessly. I really can't complain about anything when I consider the price I paid. I will most definately stay there again. Great for people traveling with pets.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnman6108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE_Ramada_Charlotte, Front Office Manager at Regal Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for such a pleasant review. Although the hotel has changed ownership since your stay, I think you would still be pleasantly surprised. Many changes have happened over the past couple months and there will be more changes to come. Our new fitness room is almost completed and upgrades will be made on several other areas of the hotel in the coming weeks. We hope that you'll visit again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Very clean and great parking. strategically located. Good price too

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanx0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE_Ramada_Charlotte, Front Office Manager at Regal Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. If you're in the area again, we hope that we will be your choice for your hospitality needs. We're under new management and many changes have been made since your stay here with us. We look forward to serving you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Motel 6 Charlotte
#161 of 178 in Charlotte
16 reviews
Continental Inn
#113 of 178 in Charlotte
53 reviews
Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC
#111 of 178 in Charlotte
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mineral Springs
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte University Research Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Inn

Property: Regal Inn
Address: 5415 Equipment Dr, I-85 exit 41, Charlotte, NC 28262 (Formerly Ramada Charlotte Northeast/University Area)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Mineral Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Regal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Regal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Charlotte Northeast Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing