We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte
Ranked #50 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
160 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very relaxing experience”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Breakfast is great. Ample food and quick service. Never waited more than 5 minutes for an omelette. Enjoyed sitting by the waterfall.
Had evening drinks one day. Again quick service.
Gym is 24 hrs and spacious. Many treadmills and other equipment.
Pool looked nice, but did not use.
Parking lot is unnecessarily complicated? Not sure why it has the gates - anyone can enter/exit.
First hotel I had to sign for water bottles when charging them to the room (from their snack bar)?
Great spacious rooms. 3 glass elevators.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bstrvl55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCharlotte, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello,

Thanks so much for taking time to submit your review of our hotel. We share these reviews with the entire team and we were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you return in the near future.

Take care, Kevin - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    335
    199
    118
    102
See reviews for
430
213
36
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We always stay at this hotel when we have to fly out of Charlotte the next morning. We had
three kids with us so we got connecting rooms so we would have two bathrooms and no headaches getting ready inthe morning. The rooms have two sink areas one in the bedroom
and then the bathroom so no problems getting ready to go inthe morning. The countertops
are granite and rooms include two TVS, sofa bed, frig and coffee maker. We ordered dinner
from the restaurant downstairs and brought it back up. My husband and I walked down to the
bar and had few beers while we waited on the food--our kids are teens. The inside of this hotel
is just beautiful and they even have a heated indoor pool.

Room Tip: For large families request the connnecting rooms ahead of time--it is not guaranteed but we asked i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachessc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCharlotte, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hi beachessc,

Thanks very much for providing your comments on our hotel. I was very please to see you enjoyed our hotel and your visit with us. I hope to see you return in the near future.

All the best, Kevin - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My family and I arrived after 7pm on the 11th to check-in. We were in CLT because our 3rd son was about to start school at UNC-C. I asked the guy at the desk, if we could have a late checkout on the 13th (which is today) since my son could not move on campus til 3pm. Instead of just saying politely, "yes, for a fee of $75". He had a nonchalant tone in his voice, and went through how I'd be charged $25 per hour and anything after 3, would constitute in another day's charge...so yeah, you can stay til 3." I was just disappointed that they could not accommodate my family, especially since I explained about my son, and he could clearly see that my husband is disabled (veteran). For the price we paid - staying til 3 should not result in additional charges especially with all the suites they have to offer. WE WILL CHECK-OUT @ 12 TO AVOID $75+ FEES.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarejola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCharlotte, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Sarejoa,
Thank you very much for providing comments on your recent stay at our hotel. I'm sorry to hear we left a negative impression with you. I read your comments regarding our service associate and your frustration when requesting a late check-out. Our team member did not provide the level of service that is indicative of what we work hard to provide all of our guests. Please accept my apologies and I hope to see you return in the future.
All the best, Kevin - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Anytime I am in Charlotte, my husband and I always stay at the Embassy Suites. I've never had one bad experience. The people are friendly and will go out of their way to accommodate. The only really down side is the traffic getting in and out.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pclovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCharlotte, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hi Pclovin,
Thanks so much for taking time to provide a review of our hotel. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your loyalty to our hotel! I hope to see you during a future stay. Take care, Kevin - Gen Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The property and rooms are well looked after. The rooms were very well appointed and tons of room. Breakfast was good and always a great benefit of an Embassy Suites. Unfortunately the hotel was thick of a number of sports groups with kids running the halls well into the night. The parents we not any better. The hotel also allowed a bus to idle all night long outside my window making for a long tiring night. Remember they charge for wifi....it's time for Embassy to provide wifi...

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room by the soda machines....the rooms are tucked away and mo quiet than on the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCharlotte, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Hi PaulB,
Thanks very much for taking time to provide comments on our hotel. I was sorry to hear your visit wasn't up to expectations due to noisy children and an idling bus. I've shared your comments with the staff as we do take steps to limit noise for the benefit of all of our guests. Please accept my apology for falling short in your case. I hope to see you return in the future.
Cordially,
Kevin Plucker - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I hate to say it, but I was disappointed with my stay here. I have stayed at Embassy Suites in other cities, all of which have been very nice places. I picked this hotel for a business function based on my other experiences with Embassy Suites being good for business events. Well, unfortunately this location was overrun with large groups of teenagers and their families in for some sort of sporting event. The entire place looked and felt like a boarding school or dormitory of some sort, with teenagers camping out in the hallways and refusing to move when other people were trying to get through, riding the elevators up and down, screaming across the atrium to friends, etc. Now, I realize this is more the fault of the "chaperones" of the group but I did not anticipate running into these types of crowds at an Embassy Suites...don't they belong at the Holiday Inn??? Seriously, just being in the common areas of this hotel was absolutely driving me batty with all of the people screaming and yelling and running around, parents of the kids included. Maybe not entirely the hotel's fault but it really put a damper on my stay. I wish I'd been warned that this event was going on, I would have gone elsewhere.

Cleanliness was not up to par. Debris on carpet in room, hairs in bathroom, dusty headboards, lint and debris in corners. Room services dishes were left outside other rooms and not collected for long periods of time. One of the elevators had either spilled food or vomit that did not get cleaned up for the 24 hours I was there: it was hard to tell which it was.

The room was ok but again not what I expected: the sheets and pillows need to be replaced, stained and holes. The dark wood furniture in the room was chipped and worn looking. The bathroom needs a gut rehab. Not something I'd usually complain about but again, not what I expected from this chain nor in a room that cost $200 for one night.

Honestly, I've stayed in Hampton Inns that were cleaner, more comfortable, far more relaxing, and far cheaper than this place.

I really expect more from Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunLvr101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCharlotte, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hi Sunlvr101,
Thank you for taking time to post your comments on our hotel. I was disappointed to see you had a poor experience at our hotel. I've shared your review with the team as we always look for ways to improve. Please accept my apology for falling short of your expectations and I hope you'll give us another chance in the future. Take care, Kevin - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed at the Tryon St Embassy Suites with my girlfriend on a birthday trip. We both agree: the hotel is beautiful, the service is excellent, and the continental breakfast is delicious. I perceive the hotel as aging, but she thinks I'm wrong. Regardless, the lobby, dining area, and our room were absolutely spotless. We asked for late check-out and and were granted, no questions asked. Our perfect stay was crucial to a perfect celebration, and Embassy Suites did not disappoint!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCharlotte, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hi,
Thanks so much for your comments on our hotel. I was very happy to see we accommodated your special request without an issue. I hope to see you return soon. Take care, Kevin - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
HYATT house Charlotte Airport
#24 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Eagle Lake
Renaissance Charlotte Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte
Address: 4800 S Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28217-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Eagle Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#43 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#49 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Embassy Suites Charlotte hotel is in very close proximity to the Charlotte Douglass International Airport and we offer an airport shuttle. Not to mention we are less than 1 mile from the Woodlawn station that will take you into Uptown Charlotte using the Lynx lightrail. We are an all-suite hotel providing our guests with a free hot made to order breakfast daily. Boasting ample meeting space, indoor pool, fitness center and an onsite restaurant/lounge we have something for everyone. Did you bring the kids with you? We even have convenient vending machines to keep the little ones occupied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Charlotte
Charlotte Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing