We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Suite Helpful Management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park
Ranked #86 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Suite Helpful Management”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Even under renovation this suburban Courtyard offered great service and a nice room. Close to UNC Charlotte and major highways. We were upgraded to a suite which was ideal for our work. The room was bright and even featured enough plugs for two computer laden guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSNSNRNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren C, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Greetings,
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at the newly renovated Courtyard University, and thank you very much for your kind remarks! I’m so happy to hear that you found our rooms appealing to your travel needs, stylish, and that you enjoyed our convenient location with easy access to many Charlotte destinations. We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to Charlotte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    60
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
19
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We enjoyed our stay. Check in was easy and the front desk clerk was very helpful and informative. We dined at the Bistro and the food was very good. The young lady working was very pleasant and assisted us in making a great food selection. The room was clean and well furnished. We enjoyed the lobby/lounge area. We would definitely re-visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren C, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Greetings Peggy B.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Courtyard University in Charlotte, and thanks for providing your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your experience at our hotel. I will be sure to pass along your remarks to our associates. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you visit Charlotte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were driving to Atlanta and wanted to spend the night at Charlotte. Check-in was really smooth. The gentleman at the front desk was very pleasant. There was plenty of parking. The room was very clean. The towels and sheets were very soft. The room was not big, but I liked the layout of the room. The sink was outside of the bathroom, so two people can get ready at the same time. The room was big enough for four of us.

The hotel was an easy drive off I-85. And there was a Walmart and Harris Teeter near by.

If we are in the area again, we would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReviewDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren C, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Greetings ReviewDC,
I am so glad you chose to stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte University on your trip through Charlotte to Atlanta! Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of our property to inform other guests of your pleasant stay with us. We appreciate you highlighting great experiences from your stay like: our wonderful associates, great parking, tidy rooms, fluffy linens, functional room layouts, and convenient location. I am very pleased to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us, and that you intend a return visit to our hotel when traveling through Charlotte. We greatly look forward to hosting you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here for several days so a larger room would have been nice but there are just two of us. There is a very large, lovely lobby area with several "conversation" areas which compensate for the small rooms. No free breakfast but there are choices at the lobby "bistro" for an added cost. Rooms are very, very clean and nicely decorated. I asked for a mini fridge and one was immediately brought to our room. Staff is friendly and efficient. Nice outdoor space with a pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the pool area so you can have a small balcony area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skatinggrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren C, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Greetings Skatinggradma,
Thank you very much for choosing Courtyard University! And thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time spent at our hotel and found our accommodations, beautiful, clean and refreshing. I’m pleased that you received prompt service from our warm friendly staff. Courtyard’s new food concept, The Bistro is a delightful addition to our service offerings and I hope you were able to enjoy breakfast, Starbucks coffee and specialty beverages, dinner, or drinks with us. I will be sure to pass along your feedback to all of our staff members. We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to Charlotte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The rooms are smaller then we are used to, but like the access and parking. Lots of restaurant choices within a half mile, and three right next door.. The beds and pillows are top notch like any Marriot we stay at. Friendly service. The nicest lobby and lounge we have seen for a Courtyard,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppes1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren C, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Giuseppes1933,
We appreciate you staying with us at the Courtyard University! Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Went to the NASCAR race in Charlotte but couldn't find a hotel. I was told about this hotel and surprisingly it was available. It was only 5 min from the track. Upon checkin, front desk was extremely pleasant and accommodating. Room was clean and even the house keeping staff was friendly and smiled. Restaurants close by and plenty of parking as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4ob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren C, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear 4ob,
We appreciate you staying with us at the Courtyard University! Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel convenient to the Charlotte Motor Speedway and other destinations in the area. I am proud to pass along your feedback to our associates. We look forward to having you stay with us for your return trips to Charlotte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stay in Charlotte regularly on business. This location has become my top choice over the past three months. I have stayed at two other Courtyards within the radius of downtown Charlotte as well as a Hilton (and against my will (lol) the nightmarish Ramada Convention). This location feels safer and is in a better part of town, feels more secure than the Arrowood location. While visually, the Courtyards are the same--the staff here make a big difference. The Bistro is a little pricey but the cashier and cooks are friendly and add value to the dining experience. They work hard to cook to order and ask the right questions regarding the customer's preferences. The menu is the same as the other Courtyards but the food is much better prepared (and they've improved week after week!) The hotel managers pitch in if a line should form at the Bistro which makes up for the hotel not having a complimentary breakfast buffet. The Bistro has booths with little private TV monitors which is nice for those of us who prefer the chattier morning talk news. The housekeeping staff is polite, quiet and do a great job--the rooms are spotless and always orderly.

My only minor complaints are: 1) that they advertise stamps and mailing as part of their business services but the front desk had no stamps (at 2 locations) and seem to have never mailed a letter for a guest. 2) as a value add and efficiency for travelers, they should offer a lobby coffee service--perhaps they don't want to lose Starbucks sales. The in-room coffee is very typical of such--weak and bland. 3) vending machines please--the convenience kiosk, while has a nice selection, is a little costly for water/soda and not conveniently located to rooms.

Thank you, Courtyard University Managers and Staff. You stand up straight, always appear well-groomed and alert, have manners and are well-spoken. You consistently demonstrate you sincerely care about your guests. I feel you should be a coach and model to other Courtyards in the area.

Room Tip: Book ahead - would be nice to get a courtyard-facing first floor room with patio - they never seem a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeldaMcSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren C, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear ZeldaMcSC,
I’m delighted to hear of your pleasant stay and appreciation of our associates here at the Courtyard University Research Park in Charlotte, NC. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughtful and kind remarks about our property, associates, and managers! I am very pleased that our warm accommodations, friendly and caring staff, and secure location suite your business travel needs.

I am sorry that we did not have stamps in stock while you visited and that a letter was not mailed properly. Our front desk now has a fully stocked postage machine and an eager staff ready to mail letters on your behalf. I appreciate your suggestions about the coffee and vending machines. Part of the new lobby and Refreshing Business model of Courtyard is to centralize our amenities and food and beverage offerings and provide a great selection of items in the Bistro and Market. This is accomplished through having Starbucks coffee and specialty drinks available 24 hours a day and a vast selection of high quality food, beverage, and toiletry items for sale in our Market.

I have passed along your comments and concerns to our management team and all of our associates. Your feedback is important to us and we thank you once again for writing. We look forward to hosting you again in the future at the Courtyard University Research Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Mineral Springs
Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park
Hampton Inn University Place
#60 of 178 in Charlotte
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn University Place
#78 of 178 in Charlotte
220 reviews
Mineral Springs
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte University Research Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park

Property: Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park
Address: 333 W W T Harris Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28262-3341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Mineral Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Courtyard hotel in Charlotte, NC is located in University Research Park, a 3200 acre business park, home to the area's growing business community; IBM, TIAA-Cref, AREVA, McKesson and Allstate call the city home. In addition, this Charlotte area hotel is centrally located to UNC Charlotte, the convention center and uptown. For race day, our Charlotte Motor Speedway hotel is conveniently just 7 miles from the track. Whether here for business, leisure or to visit family, our UNCC hotel provides well designed rooms and convenient amenities including The Bistro and free high-speed internet. Stay in shape with our fitness center or relax in our outdoor pool. Planning a group function? Our UNC Charlotte hotel offers 1,250 square feet of flexible meeting space for seminars, reunions and events. Visit the Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park today and see why the blend of services and amenities make it a top choice among hotels in Charlotte for business and leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Courtyard
Charlotte Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing