We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprise Charge” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Charlotte-Airport Coliseum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Charlotte-Airport Coliseum
Ranked #134 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
GreenLeadersGold level
Waynesville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Surprise Charge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was delighted to find a hotel near the Charlotte, NC, airport where I could park my car for 2 weeks while I was traveling to visit family in CA. Imagine my surprise when I looked at the my bank account and $500 had been debited from my account to Baymont Inn and Suites without informing me that it would be done. But the main problem was that the front desk employer had no knowledge of this happening or why. If a hotel is taking that much out if the customer uses a debit card, someone in the company should have knowledge of that action. I even called their national customer service number and even that person had no knowledge as to why it occurred. Inform you employees if it is your policy to do so.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Helpful?
Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amar P, Front Office Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Charlotte-Airport Coliseum, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I'm extremely sorry for the inconveniences you have experienced with credit card charges. As you said you used a debit card, in this case, the hotel only authorizes the amount you are supposed to pay, we don’t hold any extra amount. However, if you are using a gift card, it is different from the debit or credit card, it automatically hold extra amount which eventually get credited back you account. If there is anything we can help you with, you can contact the hotel directly at 704-394-3381, or email at baymontclt@yahoo.com, so we can look into your account to see what exactly is going on with the charges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    69
    137
    151
    215
See reviews for
143
148
94
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
150 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

If I could give this hotel a lower rating I would. I was held up at the airport due to a mechanical issue with my aircraft so US Air put me up in this hotel. I am not sure why they would send their customers to this hotel but that's for another review. This hotel smelled of smoke and was ran down to the point that it really needs a complete renovation. If I was with my family we would have left and found another hotel but I decided to suffer through it as I only had four hours to get some sleep. While waiting in line for my room three different people came down to complain that they were put in rooms that were already occupied. There was a child of one of the employees playing a violent video game in the main lobby on the TV hung on the wall for all the customers to see. Not what I would have wanted my children to see if I had my kids with me. There was absolutely nothing professional about the accommodations or employees at this hotel. I have so much to complain about that I didn't even bother as I figured what't the point. Do as I did and vow to never go to this hotel. You will be happy you avoided it!!!

Room Tip: Best tip is to get a room at another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBrainstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amar P, Front Office Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Charlotte-Airport Coliseum, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was very concerned when I read your review, as it certainly is not what we want any of our guests to experience. I would like to apologize for all the inconvenience. Please feel free to contact me, so I can be of further assistance to you. It is important for us to make sure all our guest leave satisfied. You can contact the hotel directly at 704-394-3381 and ask for a manager, or email at baymontclt@yahoo.com. Again, we do apologize and thank you for making us aware of this your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our flight was cancelled and the airline booked us overnight at this hotel. The shuttle only runs every hour, so we crammed in there, I sat on my husbands lap in order to help other people fit. Luckily, I was first in line to check in, but I'm sure the people near the end waited a good half hour or more as there was only one person at the front desk. Our room had a strange smell like they tried to make it smell clean or something, I'm not sure. We walked down the road (no sidewalk) and across a main road (no crosswalk) to get to the Sheraton for a drink, as our hotel had no bar or restaurant. The shuttle at the Sheraton was nice enough to bring us back. Our room was clean enough and the beds were okay but the smell was terrible, and it was noisy in the morning. We were told the night before we could have an hour late checkout but we still had 3 or 4 people come to the door so we didn't get any extra rest. If I ever get stuck in Charlotte again I will ask that the airline put me somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amar P, Front Office Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Charlotte-Airport Coliseum, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing about the issue that occurred with your stay. It is important to me that our guest is satisfied, and this does not sound like the case. I'm extremely sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced because of the noise and the shuttle. I would like to speak you regarding your experience, as I would like to assist you with the inconvenience that you have mentioned. I can be reached at 704-394-3381 or you can email me at baymontclt@yahoo.com. Thank you so much and I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

The peeping of the fire monitoring all night, coupled with the dead roach that I had to share the room with made for a sleepless night.
The hotel has great location for the airport, but all in all, it wasn't fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amar P, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Charlotte-Airport Coliseum, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I'm extremely sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced during your stay. I want to let you know that we take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. Your comments will be looked into. If there is anything we can help you with, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Ok Room had Problems, But that wasn't the fault of the Hotel Staff. We arrived a little Late and took a suite down stairs. Apparently the night the day before some people rented the suite and had a Party there, Being a No Smoking room the thought dismantling the smoke detector would be a good idea. Do I blame the house keeping staff for missing it? Of course not I only noticed it the next day on checkout. and notified the management. when we checked in we noticed an odor, as I said it was late, we investigated and found tucked away in a cabinet was a trashbag full of beer cans and perishables Again should I blame housekeeping? I think not!! A good guest would leave something like that in plain sigh. Rooms are cleaned and inspected but don't tell me you clean and check under your bed EVERY day.
Anyway all our "complaints" were corrected immediately by the front office staff> Thank you very Much Jacola Byrd for the pleasant Stay.
BCW

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amar P, Front Office Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Charlotte-Airport Coliseum, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and I am very sorry your stay was little disappointing. However, we appreciate your comments about the service our staff had provided – Jacola will be excited to hear your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Charlotte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chareston
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Overall i had a good stay i had a early morning flight so i decided to go Baymont because of the low price online. The Hotel has been renovated recently and have flat panel Tv's as an added bonus. I parked my vehicle and was shutled for free to the airport ,> very close to airport only took 5 minutes to arrive at departures. i paid 60 odd dollars for a 1 night stay and i will make a mental note of this hotel for future visits. I would like to thank Mr. Shah for being extra nice and hospitable. Good job on the renovation you GUYS.

Room Tip: ask for renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank will b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amar P, Front Office Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Charlotte-Airport Coliseum, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review about your recent stay with us! I am very happy we were able to meet your travel needs- from parking to staff service. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Charlotte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport North
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport
Comfort Suites Airport
#73 of 176 in Charlotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Charlotte Airport I-85 / I-485
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#119 of 176 in Charlotte
3.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte - I-85 Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Charlotte-Airport Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Charlotte-Airport Coliseum

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Charlotte-Airport Coliseum
Address: 3101 Scott Futrell Drive, Charlotte, NC 28208 (Formerly Days Inn Charlotte Airport / Coliseum)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Charlotte-Airport Coliseum 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near Charlotte-Douglas International Airport, Baymont Inn is 2.4 mi (3.9 km) from Carolina's Aviation Museum and 2.9 mi (4.7 km) from Dowd House Historic Site. Bank of America Stadium and Time Warner Cable Arena are also within 6 mi (10 km). And a short drive to Carowinds. Baymont Inn & Suites features a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, and coffee/tea in a common area. Free continental breakfast is provided, as well as free WiFi in public areas, free self parking, and a free airport shuttle. Additionally, laundry facilities, a 24-hour front desk, and express check-in are onsite. All 111 rooms provide conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves, plus free WiFi and TVs with cable channels. Premium bedding, coffee makers, and free local calls are among the other amenities available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Charlotte-Airport Coliseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Charlotte Airport / Coliseum Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing