We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here or Park Your Vehicle Here While You Travel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Charlotte-Airport Coliseum
Ranked #140 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 30, 2008

In Mar. 2008 my wife and I, and another couple, flew out of Charlotte for a 10 day dive trip to the Caribbean. On the other couple's recommendation, we decided to stay overnight at the Day's Inn Airport, 3101 Scott Futrell Dr., as they had stayed there before and had good experiences. When we got there our friends noticed that there was new management and staff. The management told me that I could leave my vehicle parked there while we were gone, that the hotel shuttle would deliver us to and pick us up from the airport, saving the long term parking fee. I was told a specific spot to park in, being told that it was "in front of the office where they could keep and eye on it." The overnight stay was adequate, on par with most of the hotels that are being bought out/managed by families. I felt like we had gotten a good deal, and believed the hotel when they told me that my vehicle would be ok while I was gone. I left nothing visible, and there was no outward indication that these items were in the truck. The parking space was in a direct line of sight with the office window, about 40' from the front door, and there were no other vehicles blocking the view.
When I returned at 1:15AM, 10 days later, I found that my truck had been broken into, GPS and checkbooks stolen, our friends' clothes bag had been taken, and the door lock had been damaged. Upon questioning the manager, I was told that what happens in the parking lot is not the hotel's responsibility. I demanded that the police be called, and was informed that the CMPD wouldn't come out for a car break-in, because they were so prevalent in the area. It turns out the Charlotte as a whole is one of the hottest spots in the nation for GPS theft. I left Charlotte, made the 3 hour drive home and had to make my complaint with the CMPD the next morning by phone. After looking at the crime map I discovered that car break-ins in that area were far and away the most frequently reported crime.
I have persued the matter with the hotel management, explaining my belief that they ARE responsible for what happens in the lot, especially when they told me to park in a specific place so that they could keep an eye on it. The manager agreed to talk with his boss to determine if the hotel would cover my losses and damage, which totaled about $800.00. He was supposed to call me back within ten days but 30 days later I have heard nothing. I don't expect to, either, based on the indifferent attitude that was displayed throughout by the hotel staff.
Shortly after my trip, a co-worker of my wife was going through Charlotte and had planned to stay and park at the same hotel. After hearing our story, they decided not to park at the hotel, but to use the long term parking at the airport. They later reported to us that during the night they stayed at the hotel, car alarms went off in the parking lot about 3 AM, making them glad that they didn't decide to park there during their trip.
My recommendation to you - don't park there, don't stay there, and don't expect them to be held responsible for anything.
The president of the Day's Inn knows about this incident, but says that it is up to the individually owned hotel to decide what it will do.
I know what I WON'T do - I'll never stay at a Day's Inn again, anywhere, anytime. I travel with sufficient frequency that this will be a significant amount of money going to other hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vadivetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

753 - 759 of 765 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2008

So, I am visiting Raleigh and Charlotte area for graduate school tours. From past experiences at Days Inn (New York, Los Angeles) I have been trying to avoid them, but of course, it was the cheapest option I could find at $44.95. Price was very low. Anyhow, I wasn't expecting anything, just probably very motel-type commodities. Anyway, thankfully there is a shuttle to the hotel so that was nice. The driver was very helpful, even though he seemed very rushed. The service at front desk was surprisingly pleasant. There was one in particular that seemed to show extra interest in making my stay comfortable. Well, I go to my room and it looks pretty decent! I like to check my sheets and pillows for hairs and anything else, and sheets were spot on clean. the bathroom was nice too. you could tell they recently did renovations or some sort of massive change because the fixtures and furniture looked fairly up-to-date for a days inn. My television wasnt working so i called and maybe in a couple minutes some guy came up and fixed the problem (he ended up lugging another tv from another room) Overall, I was very impressed by the quality for the price I paid. If youre looking to save money, then the days inn here is a good bet. of course, if you have couple hundred a night to spend then i would recommed a hampton inn.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PharmaSeeTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2008

Not a pretty site. The floor was smoky except for our non smoking room all-the-way at the end through the smoke. Floor had new carpet and curtains were nice, but seriously lacking a paint job and we could have done without the mold in the bathroom corners. It had been cleaned , but they would require stripping the grout to get it removed. The cracks and holes in the walls made a nice rustic addition. Hey what do you expect from a cheap hotel. A nice gentleman warned us to lock our car as his was broken into the night before. If you have to save $20. this is the hotel for you, but if you've got a little wiggle room, room elsewhere.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank fsuskiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2008

After US Airways suffered a delay at RDU, we missed our connecting flight. Unfortunately we were unable to get another until the following evening. US Airways booked us into this Days Inn as compensation.

The best summary for this hotel is that it is mediocre. It is really just an old motel with dated facilities and decor. The shuttle bus driver was friendly enough (although I thought he smelt a bit of alcohol) and the reception staff were pleasant enough. It is lacking though.

The area is not particularly nice, although some parking spaces are under CCTV. The rooms themselves were rather quiet for being so close to the highway and airport, but were old and in need of an overhaul. They were clean enough, although the bathroom could have been better. Overall, the room was basic, but for 1 and a half stars and a 'free' night from an airline, I can't complain. The continental breakfast was a joke, so don't rely on that to get you started in the morning. The free wifi is a nice touch.

I would not pick this if I was paying the bill.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank taucias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

I was suprised at how nice the shuttle drivers and desk clerk were. The halls were newly painted with new carpet and lighting.
My room was equally nice for the $49 I paid for it.
The breakfast was better than a previous stay at a beat western.
The neighborhood was pretty good also.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2007

FILTHY rooms, crumbs(or bug eggs???) in the bed, had them strip it and bring clean sheets, weird lack customer service(NONE), broken door, filthy carpet.had we known of another place to go we would have left, but we werent familair with the area.LEFT as soon as we got up, it was horrtd there!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank luvinmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank deuxloups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#132 of 180 in Charlotte
234 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Charlotte Airport Hotel and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charlotte Executive Park
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport
Comfort Suites Airport
#79 of 180 in Charlotte
269 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Executive Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Charlotte-Airport Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Charlotte-Airport Coliseum

Address: 3101 Scott Futrell Dr, Charlotte, NC 28208-2728 (Formerly Days Inn Charlotte Airport / Coliseum)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $57 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Charlotte-Airport Coliseum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near Charlotte-Douglas International Airport, Baymont Inn is 2.4 mi (3.9 km) from Carolina's Aviation Museum and 2.9 mi (4.7 km) from Dowd House Historic Site. Bank of America Stadium and Time Warner Cable Arena are also within 6 mi (10 km). And a short drive to Carowinds. Baymont Inn & Suites features a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, and coffee/tea in a common area. Free continental breakfast is provided, as well as free WiFi in public areas, free self parking, and a free airport shuttle. Additionally, laundry facilities, a 24-hour front desk, and express check-in are onsite. All 111 rooms provide conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves, plus free WiFi and TVs with cable channels. Premium bedding, coffee makers, and free local calls are among the other amenities available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Charlotte-Airport Coliseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Charlotte Airport / Coliseum Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing