We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inspirational!”

The Billy Graham Library
Ranked #1 of 176 things to do in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Journey through history with one of the most influential voices of the 20th century. Learn more about Billy Graham and his message of God’s love. Through multimedia exhibits, films, and memorabilia, you'll relive the historic moments of his life. Tour the restored Graham family home, shop in Ruth’s Attic, and enjoy lunch in the Dairy Bar. The Billy Graham Library will leave you inspired by this amazing man and his message of hope.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Bethany Beach, DE
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Inspirational!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I've always admired Billy Graham but fell in love with the man's heart and soul during this fabulous tour! Everyone -- just everyone! -- was so friendly, warm & loving, just as you'd expect from representatives of this incredible library. We really enjoyed the tour of Billy's home where he grew up & I'd recommend that tour before going into the actual library. There is a wonderful gift shop to pick up all kinds of things from books to paper weights which leaned heavily on the Christian theme. I also enjoyed the old clips of Billy speaking to such people as Phil Donahue -- Billy has such a gift from God to articulate the gospel. He doesn't "preach" -- he just uses the Word so eloquently and simple! There's so much there that it's hard to cover in one review, but I also recommend the grounds....oh, what a treat! I loved the grave marker for Ruth & just loved that incredible woman! We can't wait to visit again when all the flowers are in bloom, but even in December, God's beauty was everywhere!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssjohnson, Promotions Manager at The Billy Graham Library, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We're so glad to hear that you had such a positive experience during your visit to the Library. That's our hope for all who come through our doors! Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. God bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,238
    185
    60
    17
    16
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
178 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A moving experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

My in-laws were really looking forward to visiting the site and I was a bit skeptical because I didn't really think it would be that neat and thought it might praise the man Billy too much. I was pleasantly surprised that the focus is very much on Christ and what God used Billy to do for His glory. People are confronted with the truth of the gospel here which is a rare occurrence for a tourist site. The facility is very lovely--nice gift shop and restrooms, displays are modern multi-media. Plan to stay about 2 hours. I did not want to spend that long there but you almost can't do it faster. I love that it is free! The gospel is free and people can go there and freely here the gospel!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MJay5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssjohnson, Promotions Manager at The Billy Graham Library, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We're so glad you were pleasantly surprised by your time at the Library. You're right, the Library is not about Billy Graham, but rather about what God can do with a life yielded to Him. Thanks so much for the review, and we hope you can come again sometime! God bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Virginia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
“Outstanding and Inspirational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

WOW what a marvelous and inspirational place. From the time you enter the security gate until the time that you leave, you will be treated to a positively uplifting experience. You start you visit by visiting “Bessie” an animated cow who tells you the story of how Dr. Graham and his family started out on a farm which was located just a few miles east of the Library. After the introduction by “Bessie” we moved through the various galleries which told the story of how Billy Graham ministered to millions throughout the four corners of the world, and how he became “America’s Preacher” and the “Pastor to our Presidents.” At every turn you realize what an impact Dr. Graham and his ministry has had on our nation and the world. Staff Members are available throughout the library to assist visitors and should you feel so moved they will also assist you with any decisions that you make while visiting. After visiting the library, I took a quick tour of the Graham Family home which has been relocated to the Property. This house once stood on the Graham family farm and was disassembled and moved first to the former PTL Property in Fort Mill, South Carolina. With the demise of PTL the home was dismantled for a second time and moved to its current location at the Billy Graham Library. We finished our visit to the Library by walking around the property and visiting the Prayer Gardens where Ruth Graham, Billie Barrows and George Beverly Shea are buried. The Billy Graham Library is truly an inspirational place that not only details the life story of Billy Graham but continues to deliver the message that Dr. Graham delivered for over 60-years.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SneakinDeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssjohnson, Promotions Manager at The Billy Graham Library, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your review! We are so happy that you were inspired by your time at the Library, and hope you can come again sometime. God bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Being from Charlotte and living near where he grew up, it was more than I expected. I was at the Charlotte Coliseum in the early 60's and witnessed firsthand the powerful messages he presented. Go see it and walk the lovely grounds where one day he will rest with Ruth & George.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PSH2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssjohnson, Promotions Manager at The Billy Graham Library, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We're so glad that you enjoyed your time at the Library! God bless, and please come again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Religious but loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I aren't that religious but we really loved this museum! We would recommend this to anyone visiting Charlotte or that lives in Charlotte. We went to the Christmas holidays and enjoyed all the lights and trees!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mwood2278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssjohnson, Promotions Manager at The Billy Graham Library, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We're so glad that you enjoyed your time here! We hope guests of all backgrounds have a positive experience the Library, and we're thrilled to hear that you did. Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, and God bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Billy Graham Library also viewed

 

Been to The Billy Graham Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing