We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Visit!”

The Billy Graham Library
Ranked #1 of 181 things to do in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Journey through history with one of the most influential voices of the 20th century. Learn more about Billy Graham and his message of God’s love. Through multimedia exhibits, films, and memorabilia, you'll relive the historic moments of his life. Tour the restored Graham family home, shop in Ruth’s Attic, and enjoy lunch in the Dairy Bar. The Billy Graham Library will leave you inspired by this amazing man and his message of hope.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I took a weekend trip from Atlanta with the purpose of visiting the library. We had not heard much about the library before until we found it online one evening. This library made the trip to Charlotte worth it! Whether you are a believer or non-believer the message of the library is about what God has for us and how Billy Graham was used by God to help spread that message. The message is simple, but is very powerful.

The library did an excellent job presenting Billy Graham's impact to over 2 billion people across the world. The first portion of the visit was not guided, but the library staff did move visitors through a series of different presentations about Billy Graham and his background. The next portion of the visit was self guided through exhibits on how Billy Graham spread the word of God around the world.

The final portion of the visit was a video presentation of some actual testimonies and an invitation to follow Christ - if you felt led. There was not any pressure from the staff to do so. The staff was very friendly, accommodating, and complemented the visit.

We finished our visit with a tour of the Graham family home, the prayer garden, and the grounds. Everything was enjoyable and conducive to a very relaxing and informative visit. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone!

Thank ReviewerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssjohnson, Promotions Manager at The Billy Graham Library, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

We are so glad you had a positive experience during your visit to the Library! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We will pass along your kind words about our staff. We hope you visit again, and God Bless!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,292 - 1,296 of 1,687 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Commercializing geezus, 100 characters is not possible without resorting to uglier comments. The principle of exploiting religion is sick.

Thank TinyBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

When I first visited the library I was not that impressed. I would take my out of town guests here on the way to the airport for just a quick view. That was a few years ago. They have done a wonderful job of changing a few things and now I love it and it's always on my list for a couple hour visit. Very interesting, and the volunteers are so willing to give of themselves to make sure the visits are inspiring. You feel good for having been there.

Thank Wanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssjohnson, Promotions Manager at The Billy Graham Library, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, and your kind words about the Library. We will pass your compliments along to our volunteers. Thanks again, and we hope you come again soon. God Bless!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Sweet spirit of the many volunteers our entire tour. Very knowledgeable and lots of memorabilia on display. He is quite a man and obviously loves the Lord. I recommend this tour to any one, children or adults.

Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssjohnson, Promotions Manager at The Billy Graham Library, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you had a pleasant visit to the Library. We will pass along your kind words to our volunteers. God bless!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

After visiting the Library once before a few years back, I knew I had to bring my husband if we were ever in the area. Since we were back, we decided to drop in. The staff are so friendly and welcoming, and the tour is lively and informative. We especially enjoyed all the pictures, artifacts and the Kincade painting. We like how the tour focused more on what God did through Billy Graham instead of the man himself. The grounds were very well kept, and we enjoyed strolling along the pathways.

Thank Stlwaterbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssjohnson, Promotions Manager at The Billy Graham Library, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

We are so glad your visit to the Library was such a good one. You're right, the focus is on God, rather than on Billy Graham as an individual! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. God Bless, and please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Billy Graham Library also viewed

 

Been to The Billy Graham Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing