We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but not GREAT...”
Review of Sauceman's

Sauceman's
Ranked #35 of 2,386 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue, Grill
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK, but not GREAT...”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Food was great, but service was slow. I tried the 3-meat sampler. I had turkey, brisket, and spare ribs with collards and white slaw. The brisket was good and so was the turkey. The spare ribs would have been good had they removed the membrane before smoking. On a prior visit, I had a brisket sandwich. It was good, just not worth the price they charge for it. Could get more meat. I would recommend anyone to eat here if looking for authentic NC BBQ.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DKool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    49
    9
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“QC Juicy Q”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great find while driving around looking for lunch. The friendly guy in the world (Octavious) recommended a platter of different meats that did not disappoint. Everyone has their barbecue styles that they tend to like more than others but Sauceman's is grade A in my book! Returning soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Drove down from Princeton,NJ and wanted to try an authentic NC barbecue... Sauceman's didn't disappoint! The food was very good and the employees and the environment made the whole experience even better. Shout out to Octavio, real friendly guy who helped us! Will definitely come back when in town.
Fried green tomatoes and the hush puppies were the best!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Freyssinierfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good "Q"”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

this place has great bbq, but they do run out. Their sandwiches are great especially with grilled Texas Toast. Management and wait staff almost too casula to the point of indifference. Looking for "Tips" forget it. Originally went for tips as heard from some tv foodie. Never have them.
Oh well, still great. Get there before six because if not they closed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smokeyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sauceman's was worth the trip!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Everything we had was great! The hushpuppies were the only thing that wasn't great. We had 3 sandwiches: the Southern Belle, the Dixie Cuban, the Sweet Smoke all of them were excellent. The BBQ sauces were all worth trying, but I have my favorite. Each side was very good as well, I've never had better sweet potato fries than the ones serviced at Sauceman's! The staff was very friendly and helpful the whole time we were there. I wish we had one of these up in our area, but it gave our trip a beautiful beginning to our vacation in the Carolinas.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ComerSmitley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sauceman's also viewed

 

Been to Sauceman's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing