We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bar food done right”

Eddie's Place Restaurant
Ranked #103 of 2,374 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Bar food done right”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Eddies place has been here in Charlotte for many years.

Great breakfast place. I'd say best in town

Lunch and dinner start with either the Gumbo or She Crab

Don't miss the burgers! Med Rare is ok

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    38
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Only "Excellent" because....”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

the prices are so fair and the food is really good quality.


This is probably one of the BEST VALUES FOR YOUR MONEY restaurants in Charlotte. I've also never had a bad meal here. It's a great little staple in the Cotswold area and has been around for a long time. They serve breakfast all day (really good breakfast) as well as your normal sandwiches/pub fare.

I keep going back for their pancakes and taco salad (usually I feel like at least one of these every time I go so I just keep alternating) but my fiance branches out more and he's always enjoyed everything he's ordered.

The price tag makes it outstanding. Everything is so beyond reasonably priced and portioned. The service, however, leaves MUCH to be desired. All of the women that work there have major attitude problems. I have yet to have a good server and I don't think I've ever had the same waitress twice. Whoever Eddie is must believe in hiring really crabby women as a general rule. No one ever smiles, they aren't good multi-taskers, and they're incredibly unapologetic for both of those facts.

If the prices were much higher OR if the food wasn't such good quality, I would probably never return just for the fact that the service is so absolutely terrible. But I have to say, when you compare it to other restaurants it's worth putting up with the negative attitudes for the quality and pricetags.

If they fired some of these awful grumpy girls and hired some younger, more friendly women to replace them this place would truly be an anomaly in Charlotte.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Melt in your mouth ribs”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Baby back ribs are a special on Friday night, very tender, some of the best in town. Shrimp & Grits are some of the best you will find outside of the low country.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Menu - Good Food”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Nice menu with typical menu items with a twist. Has a semi-New Orleans feel -- while still offering regular American fare. Specials change daily. Good breakfast food also -- although a little more costly than most breakfast offerings at other restaurants. Would frequent this establishment.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank charlilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
796 reviews
476 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Excellant friendly place to eat”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

3 of us ate there on a Thursday night when it was about 1/2 full. the service was quick and the food was all good. We had a Taco Salad, Reuben sandwich & a Chicken Salad plate. Plus a couple of Gaelic Ale's. They have a good selection of beers. Very inexpensive but looking at the all day long breakfast menu it could be a little pricey.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Levon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eddie's Place Restaurant also viewed

 
Charlotte, NC
 

Been to Eddie's Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing