We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never bring clients”

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #85 of 2,468 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: E 4th
Transit: Lynx Light Rail Stop number 25660 at Tryon Street & 3rd Street
Description: They call Ruth’s Chris founder Ruth Fertel, the First Lady of American Restaurants. But before there were 130+ locations serving 25,000 steaks a day, there was a fearless single mother of two who tore an ad from the local newspaper that read “steak house for sale” and thought, “I can do that”. The year was 1965. It’s a great American story of how one person- a woman, at a time and in a business dominated by men took an idea and made it sing. What Ruth lacked in experience she made up in hard work. But it wasn’t just sixteen – hour days that made her steakhouse an icon. Ruth had the divinely simple, yet uncommonly magical way of touching people with genuine kindness- the way food and love and people just fit together in her hometown of New Orleans where the legend was born. in 1976, there was fire at the original Chris’ Steak House, destroying the restaurant and leaving Ruth in a difficult situation. But Ruth was smart, and she learned to trust her instincts. Ruth plowed forward and within seven days she was back in business in a new location just four blocks away on Broad Street in New Orleans. Tired of guests calling her Chris but not wanting to lose to loyal customer base who knew the restaurant by it’s longtime name, Ruth renamed her restaurant “Ruth’s Chris Steak House”…and the rest is history.
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

We are corporate clients and occupied the private dining room. Service couldn't be worse. 2 hours into the night and we've only just gotten salad course. Never bring clients here

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HeyJude73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber G, General Manager at Ruth's Chris Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

I apologize that your service was not up to our standard. You should have received better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 185 of 248 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

Even though I'm not into chain restaurants, this one has consistently great service, great food and is an excellent choice for business and Pre-theater/special occasions!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Morganflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My favorite cut is ribeye. This was my first time at Ruth's Chris and ordered the Riveye. It was good. Not great, but good. It was expecting great since they have prime cuts and are on the expensive side. The meal was good, but since it's a steakhouse I was expecting the steak to be fantastic. It wasn't. The steak was cooked properly, but found it to be quite tough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Luc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Hear so much hype for this restaurant and was disappointed in the food and service. It was okay but not a restaurant I would go back to.

Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber G, General Manager at Ruth's Chris Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

We appreciate your feedback and apologize that you were not 100% satisfied with your experience at Ruth’s Chris Uptown. We want each and every one of our guests to enjoy a true Ruth's Chris experience. If we knew that you were not feeling this experience we would have done everything in our power to correct this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

If you have ever eaten at a Ruth's Chris you won't be dissapointed here. it is great. good service, great food. if you are wanting to indulge a little. hey, you're on vacation....

Thank aggietraveler1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing