We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Ranked #26 of 183 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed a couple of nights for a concert and a belated anniversary weekend. We were overjoyed when we arrived at our room on the second floor with an awesome balcony overlooking the fountain and lobby area. I believe Raina and Tyler are to thank for the special room. They were wonderful! We loved staying there and hope to return sometime. Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 845carolp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

On behaf of our entire staff, we are delighted to hear about your wonderful stay at the Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark. We appreciate all of your very kind comments, especially those about Raina and Tyler at our reception area. I will be sure to pass your sentiments along to them and we are all looking forward to seeing you back at our hotel to celebrate your next happy occasion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 920 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

After staying at the Raleigh Renaissance, I expected to have a relaxing experience. Unfortunately, the South Park property hasn't been renovated and is very dated. In addition, when checking into the hotel I was disappointed that the staff took so long to check me in. Overall, it maybe decent for families with kids. But given the price, I think there are many better options.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank eugenialyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

We appreciate you having a commitment to Renaissance Hotels but are sorry to hear that we did not meet expectations. We will use these comments to work with our Front Desk Ambassadors so they may be prompt and accommodating while serving guests. We appreciate you taking time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The rooms were good size and the beds were great. Everyone was very nice and helpful. The area is quite suburban and nearby restaurants are fine. If you are in the south park area it is a fine choice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank livinginlondon1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

We value your recommending our hotel for the SouthPark area. It is great to know that you had such an enjoyable time with us and that you found the beds to your liking. We hope to have future opportunities of hosting you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed here during a layover in Charlotte. It is just across the street (5 min wallk) to Southpark mall. It was a good night stay. We didn't have trouble with the self park. My bf forgot to pack his toothbrush and luckily the hotel provided new toothbrush. The free in room wifi might have just been free bc we signed up for a Marriot account (free).

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank haldolhaldol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

We’re happy to hear that your one night with us was enjoyable. We understand that things sometimes get lost or forgotten while traveling so it’s great to know that our Ambassadors were able to provide the necessary toiletries. You were right about the WiFi, our Marriott Rewards members do receive complimentary WiFi and it is free to sign up for. We hope you have the opportunity of staying with us for longer than one night on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights while visiting the Charlotte area. We arrived very late on a Friday night and the front desk staff were very friendly and efficient with check in, recommending area attractions for the next day. The room was very clean and met all our needs during our stay. The courtyard area was a great place to unwind each night. The free parking and in particular that parking garage, was a nice perk and very convenient to the entrances around the hotel. While we didn't eat breakfast or dinner at the hotel, the dining area seemed very nice and the breakfast food looked really good when passing by. The hotel is also in a very nice area with multiple restaurants and a mall within walking distance. Overall, we had a great stay and would recommend the hotel to anyone staying in the Charlotte area.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 6th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

We appreciate you taking time to provide such a high recommendation for our hotel! We understand that checking in can sometimes be a hassle but our front desk associates are very equipped and efficient in make things simple for our guests, from arrival to departure. We’re glad to know that you were able to take advantage of our beautiful courtyard each night as a place to wind down. We hope you have the opportunity to return to our property get to try our Flagstones Restaurant!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

I tried this place twice. The first time in March (2014), it was loud and horrible. Second time was just as bad. The first room assigned to me smelled like chlorine - it was above the pool. Don't get that room!!! For the price, there's a Marriott across the Mall with better prices, more amazing room and amenities (the pool and bar there are wonderful). This pool sucks!!! The bar is okay. If you want to stay at a Marriott brand - go to the Marriott.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

We appreciate you taking time to review our property and we do apologize for the scent you discovered in your guest room. I can assure you that the smell was not of chorine, as the water in the pool is salt water and no toxic chemicals are used for cleaning. We will share your comments with our Housekeeping Department about the odor you smelled in your guest room. We understand the frustrations in having to change rooms but appreciate your flexibility with us and for sending us your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The hotel is well equipped and the friendly staff members are always very helpful. Especially Danny does an awesome job. He always welcomes the guests with a lot of pleasure and makes you feel comfortable. In my opinion this behavior must be implemented in every hotel because this is the first and therefore the most important impression you get as a guest. Thanks to you guys and keep on the good work!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmanero84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! Danny will be so pleased to hear how much he affected your stay in a positive way; he truly is a great asset to our team of Ambassadors. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Barclay Downs
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
#81 of 183 in Charlotte
74 reviews
Barclay Downs
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - SouthPark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 183 in Charlotte
195 reviews
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
#8 of 183 in Charlotte
837 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#52 of 183 in Charlotte
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel

Address: 5501 Carnegie Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Barclay Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $135 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover unparalleled luxury at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel. We offering an award-winning combination of boutique elegance and contemporary style at our hotel in Charlotte, North Carolina. For business or pleasure, enjoy our great accommodations and superior setting in the upscale South Park neighborhood near SouthPark Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charlotte
Charlotte Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing