We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service; top quality stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Ranked #18 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

A great stay from beginning to end! The hotel staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, the room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the food was excellent. This is a first-rate hotel. It is also conveniently located across the street from a huge high end shopping mall :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSJmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 911 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

Found a bed bug morning of checkout. We brought the actual bug down to show the staff. Was told thanks for letting us know. Have a great day. Nothing else was done. If not for the bedbug and the staff reaction the stay would have been wonderful! :(

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wrldtrvlr888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Renaissance does a good job being one of the upscale properties in the Marriott family. This is no exception.

Service is excellent - friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are nice and clean. Concierge lounge is open on weekends but would have prefer it to be closed and eat in the restaurant. Not much choices or that good of food.

Walking distance to many restaurants. Enjoy beers at Taco Mac (they have about 140 choices) and good Asian food at AZN.

Very good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterFNYNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Excellent service, and very friendly staff. Excellent location for south park. Highly recommend his location. Very contemporary furnishings. Super comfortable beds. Lots of outlets for charging in the room and a refrigerator

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

compared to the Doubletree Suites which is right next door, the decor of the Renaissance is a small step down. We stayed at the Doubletree three months ago, so have a nice comparison. The staff at Renaissance is top-notch. They are all extremely polite and accomodating (the "Marriott way" for those of you have read the book) and went out of their way-everyone-to speak to you. The "club level" breakfast was decent, but, in a crowded revamped first floor suite (presumably to be close to the kitchen). The buffet breakfast in the dining room was nice; not a huge spread, but, sufficient. If I'm paying for breakfast in that area, though, I prefer the Original Pancake House at Sharon Corners (about .25 miles away from the hotel). My only REAL qualm with the Renaissance is that overwhelming smell in the lobby areas that smells like stinky deodorant. It truly is sickening...if you're trying to enjoy some relaxation in the lobby area (of which there are several nice ones, with fun, quirky upholstered furniture) or even just passing through. I think Renaissance needs a different "signature scent" if that's what they're going for. It almost smells like every newer men's cologne that is out there-marine and fruity together YUCK! I did love the minted/fruited/herbed water that was available near the reception desk, and the outdoor courtyard off of the lobby had interesting furniture and LOOKED inviting, although, there were functions going on there the entire weekend, so, really couldn't review it. Nice area for walking also-and about a five minute walk to the SouthPark Mall, which was great!
Beds and linens were wonderful. Decor in the rooms was typical, some of the rugs in hallways were a little tired...The rollaway bed that we had to get for my daughter was nice, though. It was not one of those that were folded in half: came as an upright bed that we then laid flat-so no bar in the middle of your back. I had to do some work while on this trip and found the chair at the desk was uncomfortable, though. It was too low in comparison to the desk-even at its highest setting, was covered in "pleather", seat was too deep also. It was more like a lounge chair.
Other than the smell in the lobbies, my only complaint was that my room temps seemed to fluctuate quite a bit and it was hard to get it cooled down or heated up..could be the time of year, also, as both were needed. Outdoor air at night would've been perfect, but, windows do not open here. This is a quiet location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank formertravelagent224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Located in the SouthPark area of Charlotte the Renaissance was a comfortable quality hotel with quality service after several days of business travel. I did find the rate to be a little on the high side however.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The service was great with happy people greeting you throughout the hotel. This hotel was right next to where I had my business meetings but nowhere near anything else. I guess is located right next to where the local NBA team played. That building no longer exists. This hotel looks quite a bit like an Embassy Suites with an atrium from top to bottom which looked kind of cool. The problem with that is the noise from below carries up through the whole building. There happened to be a Chamber of Commerce drinkfest one of my nights so was very loud around 6-8 PM. The bar closes very early as they get complaints about the noise from the guests. It worked just fine for me but I imagine some others would want to know this. The room was very nice and seemed to be updated recently.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gr1069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Barclay Downs
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
#87 of 180 in Charlotte
58 reviews
Barclay Downs
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - SouthPark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 180 in Charlotte
172 reviews
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
#9 of 180 in Charlotte
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel

Address: 5501 Carnegie Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Barclay Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $134 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover unparalleled luxury at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel. We offering an award-winning combination of boutique elegance and contemporary style at our hotel in Charlotte, North Carolina. For business or pleasure, enjoy our great accommodations and superior setting near Queens University of Charlotte and SouthPark Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charlotte
Charlotte Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing