We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Ranked #17 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I don't know why I'm not fully satisfied with this place. The interior of hotel public space and room to me was nice and updated. I like how they provide a small toothpaste and love the aveeda toiletries, the staff were friendly. I did however find it difficult to find the property. It was raining heavily, I was exhausted and the property is near a mall near office buildings. I hope other guests won't get lost the way I did. I only stayed a total of 8 hours. I left by 6:30 AM hurrying to get home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SillygirlP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    233
    65
    16
    22
See reviews for
196
216
41
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I couldn't be happier with the hotel for our weekend trip to Charlotte. We were planning on just spending a single night before continuing our trip to Raleigh but loved the hotel so much we decided to spend an extra night.
The hotel is fantastic and reminded me of expensive resort hotels. The atrium was beautiful and the Courtyard was serene.
The hotel staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. Everyone from the front desk, to the doorman, to the managers couldn't have been better. We never wanted to leave!
I would make a trip back to Charlotte JUST to stay in this hotel.
The location of the hotel was ideal, with the nice mall being just right around the corner and some delicious restaurants within walking distance.

We had a fantastic experience and will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SK3674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend and we loved it! It was our first stay at a Renaissance property, and we are big fans. It was an unexpected surprise. We were visiting Charlotte for our anniversary. The front desk staff was friendly and professional. In fact, every employee that we interacted with over the weekend was smiling and hospitable. Our room was clean, and we enjoyed the treats in the lobby. The breakfast was delicious. We ordered dessert from the room service menu and it was great! We will be sure to stay here the next time we are in Charlotte.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WKM1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just returned from a weekend at the Renassiance Charlotte South Park and had to post a review about the amazing staff! Everyone was so pleasant and the infused water, champagne and cookies in the lobby were so enjoyable. The hotel was super-clean and every employee that we interacted with was great - I wish I had everyone's names to give them kudos. The door staff, front desk staff, management, houskeepers, restaurant - everyone. Nice job! Thanks for an enjoyable weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Next time I'll ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlerNotATourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville PA
Level Contributor
247 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night while on a business trip. Very nice hotel and within walking distance to the mall with lots of shopping and dining options. Front desk staff was very friendly (maybe even a bit over zealous) and I was even offered a glass of champagne upon check-in. They automatically upgraded me to a nicer room, which was a pleasant surprise.

The hotel was pretty quiet, but it didn't appear to be all that busy, so maybe that's why. My room was clean and plenty big. The work area was comfortable with plenty of plugs and lighting. Unless you are an Elite member, Internet access is $12.95/day. In this day of age, I would expect at least Wifi to be free, but sadly, it's not here. There was also plenty of plus on both night stands, which was also a very pleasant surprise. Plugs were very easy to get to as well. As for the TV, the premium channel here is HBO and you can use the StayConnect mobile app to control the TV. The room is equipped with a safe, small fridge, plus the usual coffee maker, ironing board, iron, etc. Bathroom was big and bright with a combined tub/shower, but the shower curtain is on a curved bar making the shower feel a bit less cramped. The sink area is within the bathroom, but there was plenty of counter space to put your stuff on. The bed is a bit on the soft side, so for me, my back was a bit sore in the morning.

Due to the short stay, I did not get to use the fitness center, dining options, pool, etc. All in all, a very nice hotel and one that I would stay at again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GigemAggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The staff is very accommodating and friendly! My check in was quick and I received a room with a balcony which unfortunately only overlooked a mall but they can't help that! The room was large and very comfortable. I ate the bar and had wonderful food and service. The pool and fitness room was very clean and quiet, perfect for a mid-afternoon dip! I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: ask for 1 of 4 balcony rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonbaby728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed two nights in June 2013. High quality accommodation with very comfortable bedding. Friendly and helpful staff. Plenty of dining options nearby. And of course the shopping at South Park Mall is wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Barclay Downs
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - SouthPark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barclay Downs
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
#53 of 178 in Charlotte
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel

Property: Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Address: 5501 Carnegie Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28209-4627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Barclay Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charlotte
Charlotte Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing