We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Ranked #26 of 183 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night while on a business trip. Very nice hotel and within walking distance to the mall with lots of shopping and dining options. Front desk staff was very friendly (maybe even a bit over zealous) and I was even offered a glass of champagne upon check-in. They automatically upgraded me to a nicer room, which was a pleasant surprise.

The hotel was pretty quiet, but it didn't appear to be all that busy, so maybe that's why. My room was clean and plenty big. The work area was comfortable with plenty of plugs and lighting. Unless you are an Elite member, Internet access is $12.95/day. In this day of age, I would expect at least Wifi to be free, but sadly, it's not here. There was also plenty of plus on both night stands, which was also a very pleasant surprise. Plugs were very easy to get to as well. As for the TV, the premium channel here is HBO and you can use the StayConnect mobile app to control the TV. The room is equipped with a safe, small fridge, plus the usual coffee maker, ironing board, iron, etc. Bathroom was big and bright with a combined tub/shower, but the shower curtain is on a curved bar making the shower feel a bit less cramped. The sink area is within the bathroom, but there was plenty of counter space to put your stuff on. The bed is a bit on the soft side, so for me, my back was a bit sore in the morning.

Due to the short stay, I did not get to use the fitness center, dining options, pool, etc. All in all, a very nice hotel and one that I would stay at again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GigemAggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

688 - 694 of 920 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

The staff is very accommodating and friendly! My check in was quick and I received a room with a balcony which unfortunately only overlooked a mall but they can't help that! The room was large and very comfortable. I ate the bar and had wonderful food and service. The pool and fitness room was very clean and quiet, perfect for a mid-afternoon dip! I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: ask for 1 of 4 balcony rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonbaby728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed two nights in June 2013. High quality accommodation with very comfortable bedding. Friendly and helpful staff. Plenty of dining options nearby. And of course the shopping at South Park Mall is wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Gosh I loved your hotel; the staff were great, the property was spotless, location was perfect and the flavored waters really refreshing after a long day out. The only problem we had for two nights in a row (even after having it fixed by housekeeping) was the queen size sheet on a King size bed. I was told that when the hotel is sold out that you run out of king sheets. That doesn't help the guests when in the middle of the night they have to get up and remake the bed a few times. Please buy a few more sheets.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Truthfultraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I just spent the weekend at the Renaissance SouthPark and were so impressed with the lovely decor, the friendly service, great rooms with very comfortable beds. Everything was very clean and pleasant. We enjoyed the breakfast buffets. I would love to return and stay here again. This is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This property was an unexpected pleasure. Stayed three nights on a business trip and expecting the typical business hotel. The atrium area off the Queen's Court was lovely with lots of space to relax with shaded outdoor furniture and my personal favorites, the rocking chairs. Staff was personable and attentive, catering was excellent and the food was first rate. Meeting facilities were good and the guest rooms were comfortable and well appointed.

Room Tip: The hotel is configured in a V shape so rooms away from the core are quieter but not too far from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfunaddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stay at this hotel frequently for business and it always feels like home away from home. The staff is wonderful and always goes the extra mile to make sure I feel welcome and comfortable. The hotel is modern and immaculate with a wonderful outdoor courtyard that is a great spot to unwind after a busy workday. The bartender, Kat, is one of the best I have ever encountered. She always has a smile on her face and is quick with your drink, which she remembers without having to ask. The rooms are well appointed, quiet and the beds are so comfortable! The fitness room is well equipped, spacious, clean and well maintained. There is an indoor pool as well. The location of the hotel is perfect; walking distance to many great restaurants,the South Park Mall is right across the street and the Charlotte Airport is about a 20 minute drive away. As a frequent business traveler, I stay at many hotels and this one ranks on the top of my favorites list!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Barclay Downs
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
#81 of 183 in Charlotte
74 reviews
Barclay Downs
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - SouthPark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 183 in Charlotte
196 reviews
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
#8 of 183 in Charlotte
837 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#52 of 183 in Charlotte
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel

Address: 5501 Carnegie Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Barclay Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $134 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover unparalleled luxury at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel. We offering an award-winning combination of boutique elegance and contemporary style at our hotel in Charlotte, North Carolina. For business or pleasure, enjoy our great accommodations and superior setting in the upscale South Park neighborhood near SouthPark Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charlotte
Charlotte Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing