We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up and Down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Ranked #18 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Greenport, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Up and Down”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The room was a good size. The bathroom was comfortable and well equipped, although there was trash left in the wastebasket. The Renaissance bed they boast about was the most comfortable bed I've encountered on the road. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and tasty, except for the coffee.
So I was surprised that my room was not made up by late afternoon. And my complaint did not produce any action either. I slept in a rumpled bed that night. It was still very comfortable.
Go figure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    240
    68
    17
    23
See reviews for
203
225
44
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a wonderful time in Charlotte and the Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark help make it a great experience. I was having trouble connecting to the internet and the front desk sat down with me to help me resolve my problem.

Room Tip: There was a package that included the breakfast buffet that was a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte,n.c.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Booked a standard room at this hotel for a weekend ($99/night) and was impressed with all the luxe and extra touches including a renovated room with granite counter top, Aveda shampoo bottles and digital ac/heat. No charge for scalding hot STARBUCKS coffee in the lobby every morning. Wonderful center outdoor courtyard with tables, lounging couches, string lights in a large tree, dangling crystals...sit outside morning or night time and grab some fresh air. Pleasant and helpful staff. Standard room is, well, standard however, the interior design and light blocking drapes were great. Unless you need it, request a room without an adjoining suite...the door between rooms is not well insulated and conversation/noises from the connecting room were audible.
Work out facilities were outstanding including newer treadmills and ellipticals with individual tv screens, free bottled water, towels, cable machines and free weights; not the usual small exercise room. The indoor salt water pool was popular with the families but I didn't get in it...probably not large enough for laps but highlighted by the large windows and natural light.
Didn't use it but there was a no charge laundry room (washer & dryer) available to guests next to the exercise area.
Parking was free and plentiful and the location of this hotel is excellent if you want to be within the southeast Charlotte area. My only complaints are during my visit there were scented candles in the lobby emitting a heavy intense odor and the food in the restaurant was not good.
Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel which offers so many wonderful touches right down to computers tucked into the lobby for printing an airline boarding pass.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor which was fine however, avoid rooms with a connecting door to another r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puddytat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I had never been to Charlotte before, and we were traveling from central Pennsylvania for my sister's wedding. This hotel experience was like nothing I've ever known before. We were treated like royalty just for coming in the door. Everything was pristine, the staff was phenomenal (everyone, from the desk to the doorman to the waitress at breakfast), and the wedding reception was glamorous and we were well treated by everyone. The room was beautiful, the setup was extremely nice, the housekeeping was great, the TV size and selection was great, I can't say enough things about how wonderful this experience was. If you're ever going anywhere near Charlotte, I cannot recommend the Renaissance of SouthPark enough. I have a weekly internet show and we thought so fondly of the hotel that we gave the place a plug in the end credits to encourage anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexGoodlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Deerfield, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great location, great hotel. Very modern decor. Front desk often has complimentary light refreshments such as red wine and almonds or minted water and crackers. Beautiful open space both inside and out. Speedy and friendly service to the room. Pool was small but well maintained and enjoyed by our children. Workout room spacious and well stocked with equipment, towels, water and fruit. We ate in the great room one morning for breakfast because our children just wanted to experience it because the decor was so inviting. Food and service were average. We had checked the menu for dinner but selections were very limited and couldn't find something for everyone. There are many restaurants and shopping areas nearby. Would love to stay here again. We had an incredible price through online booking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momtoalyncait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Nice and quiet. Everything is very nice: the concierge lounge, the gym, salt water swimming pool, the lay out, the room. The staff is very friendly and attentive. Very close to the South Park Mall (I think you can actually walk there). Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TampaBay-Boater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel was a gem! It was very clean and beautiful. The employees went out of their way to make you feel comfortable and were very friendly. The immediate area was very new and upscale with several of great restaurants nearby. It was also within walking distance of Southpark Mall. This hotel was at a remarkable price for the service that was provided, the beautiful rooms, and the desireable location.

Room Tip: We got a room with an indoor balcony, although it was very nice, it could somtimes get noisy if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Barclay Downs
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
#90 of 178 in Charlotte
31 reviews
Barclay Downs
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - SouthPark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Charlotte SouthPark
#63 of 178 in Charlotte
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel

Property: Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Address: 5501 Carnegie Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28209-4627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Barclay Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charlotte
Charlotte Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing