We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Ranked #20 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Room 234 had a very musty smell. We all woke up with sore throats. The bed sheets did not fit the beds and kept coming off

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tkwest02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 891 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2011

Clean and comfortable and great value. Nice courtyard, gym, sauna, pool area. We parked the car and walked everywhere. Plenty of entertainment within walking distance. We like to walk. Friendly staff. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dieseltorque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

This is an unremarkable hotel that attempts to be more that it is. The front desk seems totally indifferent and overall the hotel seems to be understaffed, especially in the food and beverage area. Rooms are nice and comfortable but nothing over the top, espeically given the price. Public areas are strangely design and not very welcoming. On the plus side was a well equiped gym and a nice lounge for high level rewards members. The hotel did some annoying things like blocking out close parking for a group that never seemed to use it. There are many food options close by along with shopping.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

This is now the 5th consecutive trip to Charlotte that we have stayed at the Renaissance. The staff is consistently friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for us, close to the places we need to go in Charlotte. The rooms are lovely and comfortable, with not only beds that feel just right, but easy chairs that I often use to sleep in because of back issues. The rooms are always clean and neat, and very helpful to me, as someone who travels with alot of electronic equipment, is the fact that there are plenty of electrical outlets, placed just right for everything I need.

The food is consistently good, so good in fact that we've had Thanksgiving dinner there two years in a row (we make Charlotte our annual Thanksgiving location).

I wish I was independently wealthy, so that I could live in this hotel. It's that nice of a place, and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cataloger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

This place was great, the location was amazing, we somehow got a room in the middle front of the building overlooking the huge mall SouthPark. Room was clean and very cozy, big TV and at night we just walked over to the mall for restaurants and bars. Came just for fun and would definitly go back! Oh and if you love Panera your in luck there are literally 7 Paneras (checked on my GPS) within a 10 mile radius... random but funny. Overall great place, didn't use hotel staff too much but front desk clerks were pretty nice from the few conversations we had. Great Place

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balravens726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

All but one of the staff we encountered were very friendly and courteous -- this was the biggest plus for the hotel. The club room was well done, the food was good and the staff was quite pleasant.

On the negative side: the fitted sheets did not fit the bed and came off the mattress with the slightest movement; the tv did not work properly and neither did the replacement; and the club room had limited hours.

We did receive a letter from the manager, after the stay, addressing our concerns. But, the response did not warrant considering this property for a future stay in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

The location is decent and there are good restaurants in the area. Wide range of shopping nearby - Hermes, RL, NM, Anthropologie. $12.95 for wired broadband (speed tested at 1.5 download and a lag that makes it almost impossible to use) is draconian. Walls are thin in the rooms. Aware of sneezes, coughs, doors opening and closing, conversations. Not loud enough to keep you awake, but a lot of muffled background noise. The rooms are updated and attractive, very angular. GREAT access to plugs, which is no minor amenity considering the number of chargers we travel with today. Digital TV, good. $2 for a soda in the machine. Beds are comfortable, linens nice. Reception and lounge area is attractive. Non-valet parking is easy. I'm struggling to target something that distinguishes the hotel, which explains the 'Meh' title. Great hotels, regardless of price, add small, sometimes undefinable, touches that make you feel like a valued guest. Nothing like that here.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FL_onthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Barclay Downs
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
#81 of 178 in Charlotte
49 reviews
Barclay Downs
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - SouthPark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 178 in Charlotte
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel

Address: 5501 Carnegie Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28209-4627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Barclay Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $145 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charlotte
Charlotte Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing