We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in the area by far!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of U.S. National Whitewater Center

U.S. National Whitewater Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The U.S. National Whitewater Center (USNWC) is dedicated to the promotion of the active, outdoor lifestyle. Since 2006, the USNWC has been promoting access to the outdoors for all levels of participants through its all-day pass programs, instruction, leadership school as well as festivals, races and other outdoor events. Whether you visit the Center's 700 acres on the Catawba River or participate in the offsite programs featured throughout the United States, the USNWC wants you to play, relax and learn outside.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best place in the area by far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place has it all if you are an outdoor enthusiast. They have hiking, biking, flatwater kayaking and standup paddleboarding. Zip lining, rock climbing, live music and, of course, whitewater rafting. It is especially fun to go on a Saturday night during what they call "Big Water". The whitewater is even more rough and they send the rafters and kayakers down the 'river'. People fall out and rafts flip over. All to the tunes of whatever band is playing. So much fun to watch. I have yet to be brave enough to raft Big Water, but rafting the adventure course sure is fun!
We have annual passes and we don't use them often, but we have used them quite a few times. Once the weather cools a bit, we will probably go more often. It just gets too hot here in the summer for us to be outside long.
The absolute only negative thing I have to say is that the helmets and personal flotation reek to high heaven! I mean, they smell just awful. Otherwise, it's a perfect place!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank amyjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,269
    341
    56
    21
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely Do Not Miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My family of four and friends family of four had a great time here. So much to do - rafting, ropes course, ziplining, mountain biking, kayaking, climbing. All for $54.00 a piece! Everyone was super friendly, everyone felt safe and informed about the sport they were undertaking, and the center is clean. Food was great and reasonable too. I paid $10.00 for a bin and I would highly recommend that. All your stuff is stored so you don't have to carry it around, and anytime you need to get a towel, or different shoes, you just show them your lanyard with your number on it and they slide your bin over and you slide it back when you've taken what you needed. Better that a locker for $7.00 . Lots of places to relax in the shade if you're not participating, but beware there is a lot of walking involved - the place is huge! Great day with great memories! Highly recommend!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mara4_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“absolute gem for outdoor adventurers just minutes from downtown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

water, bikes, tree's, climbing, walking, live music, u name it, USNWWC has it.. don't miss it. I love taking the dog down and watching the national team practice or just take a walk, find a stpot on the hill, enjoy some great music

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank wranglerspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Day over Labor Day weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Ran a 5k trail race in the morning, then came back to go whitewater rafting and zip-line. Then had a few local beers while watching the hilarious BYOB Build-Your-Own-Boat!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Playground for active adults.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place is nothing short of amazing. This is the training location for the olympic paddling team, but in the Olympic off season, is open to the public to PLAY. Whitewater paddling, rock climbing, zip lining, paddle boarding, mountain biking, fun, fun, fun, fun, fun. And those people that say they "almost died" on reviews just panicked. Staff are trained to aid and assist you and it is a pretty controlled environment. There are lots of safety precautions and the man made rapids are not like natural ones with holes that you can actually get sucked into or wedged under. Pretty safe.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Logan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. National Whitewater Center also viewed

 

Been to U.S. National Whitewater Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing