We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Parents 50 th wedding anniversary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne Hotel

Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne Hotel
Reserve with OpenTable
Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne Hotel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 2,340 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Ballantyne East
Cross street: Johnston Road
Description: Gallery Restaurant specializes in a locally sourced, progressively Southern approach to exquisite new American cuisine. Driven by modern culinary techniques, Gallery's culinary team is committed to creating delicious and beautiful cuisine featuring the freshest ingredients from local farms. The restaurant's comfortable ambience is enhanced by a captivating art exhibit from local contemporary art provider Shain Gallery, establishing an authentic gallery feel. Gallery Restaurant serves upscale breakfast, lunch, weekend brunch and dinner daily and offers a full bar and bar menu. Gallery is an ideal restaurant for weekday business lunch and dinners and offers a private dining room which can accommodate up to 20 guests.
Spruce Pine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Parents 50 th wedding anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We took our parents to a most delightful 50 th Wedding Anniversary lunch at a The Gallery. The staff was amazing; professional, pleasant, knowledgeable. The menu prices at this particular upscale Hotel/ restaurant were so reasonable. The food....so delicious!!!! My parents life nearby and will return as will the rest of our family. Highly recommended. The hotel was gorgeous....local art work throughout the lobby.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cassie28777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Manager at Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear cassie28777,
Thank you for celebrating your parents' 50th wedding anniversary with us. We are happy you had an enjoyable experience and value your kind comments regarding our staff, reasonable pricing and food. At Gallery, we are committed to providing flavorful fare with attentive service. We change our menu seasonally, as we strive to use as many local, fresh ingredients as possible. We hope to welcome your family back soon, and thank you for recommending our restaurant.

Sincerely,
Cameron Brobst
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    52
    24
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Recently remodeled, The Gallery's setting is both beautiful and comfortable. You can be seated well away from the noise of the bar and I am always thankful for a table over a booth. It seems they spread the diners out initially rather than crowd together as we had early 6 pm reservations ( not required). The servers there are always top notch and my water glass is never more than half empty. Each of our seafood dishes were so fresh tasting and perfectly cooked with delicious and unique sides. Our desserts were unusual as well but would have preferred a more traditional light cake or pie. The coffee was nice and hot and amazing. Our margarita and crown and coke were expertly mixed although on the small side. As the traveling corporate folks filtered in from the bar, they brought their very loud conversations with them, so we were glad for the early reservation. The restaurant is within a convention type hotel as well that has a golf course.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Manager at Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear HappyGrandmother,
Thank you for dining with us! We are pleased that you like our redesign and versatility of seating and appreciate your comments regarding our service and cuisine and beverages. We have shared your feedback with our food & beverage team, and we are always looking to improve the dining experience. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,
Cameron Brobst
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Gallery has excellent food, presentation, service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

The Gallery has excellent food, presentation, and service. I ate dinner there twice during my stay. I was with a group of friends and they had no problem splitting the checks or charging to our rooms. Price is high, but then so is the quality.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KAQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Manager at Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear KAQuinn,

Thank you for dining with us a couple of times at Gallery during your stay. We are delighted that you had great dinners and value your compliments regarding our food, presentation and service. Our culinary team is dedicated to creating memorable dining experiences for our guests. We partner with many local purveyors to offer the freshest ingredients of the season and strive to provide inventive, flavorful dishes. Thank you for sharing your feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Cameron Brobst
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Slooooooow service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Food was good but I think my shoe would've tasted good after waiting an hour for our food. It's too bad- the Ballantyne hotel is such a beautiful place. The food was also cold but I think it was because it sat in the window waiting to be delivered. Wine glass was empty, bread plate was empty, water glass was empty. Frustrating when you really want a fun night out without the kids. Won't go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marylacey216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, General Manager at Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear marylacey216,

Thank you for dining with us at Gallery Restaurant. We apologize that your experience fell short of your expectations and was not representative of the fine service standards that we strive to maintain. Our food & beverage manager will be reaching out to you soon to address your concerns directly. We want to make this right and hope you will accept our invitation to return for an enjoyable dining experience. Our team is committed to providing our guests with exceptional dining experiences, and we hope we can make it up to you. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, NC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Wonderful afternoon tea!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Our aunt was celebrating her 80th birthday and we wanted to do something special to commemorate the occasion. Ballantyne's afternoon tea was the perfect answer! Our party of seven snuggled in beside the fire to enjoy a selection of sandwiches (cucumber, egg salad, salmon -- to name a few; a vegetarian offering is also available), wonderful desserts (our favorites included the heath bar cheese cake, scones with lemon curd, and small lemon tarts with berry topping) and large selection of teas. Their menu was delightful and we left there full, thanks to the waitress' generous offering of *second helpings.* The setting was lovely -- a quiet nook beside the fire in large comfortable chairs and loveseat, complete with back pillows (to provide guests with short legs added comfort) and service was exceptional. If you're looking for something special, I highly recommend Ballantyne's afternoon tea. (Cost: $32 per person.)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Meritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, General Manager at Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Meritas,
Thank you for celebrating your aunt's 80th birthday over afternoon tea with us. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience and value your kind words regarding our menu and setting. Our staff is committed to making afternoon tea a truly exceptional experience for our guest. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing