We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Day Feast.”

Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne
Reserve with OpenTable
Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #75 of 2,570 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $65
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Ballantyne East
Cross street: Johnston Road
Description: Gallery Restaurant specializes in a locally sourced, progressively Southern approach to exquisite new American cuisine. Driven by modern culinary techniques, Gallery's culinary team is committed to creating delicious and beautiful cuisine featuring the freshest regional ingredients. The restaurant's comfortable ambience is enhanced by a captivating art exhibit from local contemporary art provider Shain Gallery, establishing an authentic gallery feel. Gallery Restaurant serves upscale breakfast, lunch, weekend brunch and dinner daily and offers a full bar and bar menu. Gallery is an ideal restaurant for weekday business lunch and dinners and offers a private dining room which can accommodate up to 20 guests.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have eaten here at Christmas many times we can't wait until the big day, we have also enjoyed a wonderful after noon tea, fit for a King.
Over the years we have enjoyed a regular lunch at the Hotel.
Merry Christmas to all the staff and best wishes for the New Year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sallie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Sallie007,
Thank you for celebrating Christmas with us and for sharing your kind feedback. We are pleased that you have had enjoyable experiences dining with us at Gallery Restaurant, as well as at afternoon tea in our hotel lobby. Our entire staff works diligently to make our guests feel special and strive to create memorable experiences. We wish you all the best this holiday season and look forward to seeing you on Christmas!

Best regards,
Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 180 of 230 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Gallery bar and restaurant was outstanding. We started at the bar for a drink. The bartender was polite and made friendly conversation while checking in at just the right intervals to make sure he had what we needed. The restaurant experience made our day. They had personalized the menu for my wife since it was her birthday. They had multiple waiters offering us the very best of service. The food itself was good but not great. It didn't matter. The great service that they provided was even more important than the meal. And they ended the meal with a special birthday dessert for my wife as well. We appreciated the special care they gave to ensuring that my wife had a great dinner experience on her birthday.
We felt that this was a good restaurant with a great supporting staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SteveMatthewP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear SteveMatthewP,

Thank you for dining with us at Gallery Restaurant and for sharing your positive feedback. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable experience. Thank you for your compliments regarding our service and special touches. Our staff is committed to providing attentive service and delicious fare, and we appreciate that you chose to celebrate your wife’s birthday with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I had heard good things about the Ballantyne Hotel from the Cigar Dave Show. So I decided on my drive back to Atlanta, GA from Columbia, SC we would take a side trip to Charlotte,NC to enjoy Brunch at the 4 Star Mobil award winner the Gallery Restaurant. The Greeter first tried to sit us at a long table in the rear with other tables around us. This woud not do and I requested that we be moved to a private table where just the two of us could sit alone, no problem. The restaurant decor is very clean and modern in addition the Hotel is very very nice! On the level of the Peninsular Hotel in Chicago, except they have a Golf Course at the Ballantyne! It's that perfect Blend of Southern Chic with some old Southern Charm. Now to the food, which was very good! The Shrimp and Grits must be tried....I wont say anymore. The side portions of bread were warm and soft, I loved the spicy pumpkin bread Yum Yum Yum! I made the mistake of ordering a double expresso (I should have ordered a Single expresso) because when I received it it was "warm" not pipping hot like it was supposed to be. That was the only disappointing thing . The service was excellent and the coffee served was very good I poured the warm expresso into my coffee which saved the day. Our main course was the Crab Cakes and the Chicken and Waffles both were excellent! I was disapointed that Charlotte,NC is still in the 19th Century with its no alcohol before Noon on a Sunday, as a Mimosa would have made a splendid meal even better. I would eat Sunday Brunch here again but only after 12 noon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Terrell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear aa6nz,
Thank you for having brunch with us at Gallery Restaurant and sharing your feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding our ambience and cuisine and value your comments regarding the espresso temperature. We recently unveiled the plated brunch menu on the weekends, and we’re so glad you enjoyed it. Our team is committed to creating memorable dining experiences for our guests. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This restaurant is a special gem not usually found in a hotel/golf resort. The decor is modern,upscale and polished. Our waiter was fabulous without a bit if pretentious or solicitous attitude. The foie gras flatbread served on a nan bread was over the top delicious. My skirt steak was done perfectly and the scallops we're cooked sufficiently to not be spongy. We finished with a dish of the in house prepared ice cream. The entire meal was first class, the atmosphere quiet and sophisticated and this should be at the top of the list of best restaurants in Charlotte. The locals would frequent The Gallery if they knew the quality of this establishment.

Thank WH_VIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear WH_VIP,
Thank for dining with us at Gallery Restaurant and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience and value your positive comments regarding our service, cuisine and atmosphere. Our team works diligently in striving to provide one of the best dining experiences in the region. Thank you for recommending our restaurant, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We recently returned from a trip to the Ballantyne Hotel and after eating dinner at the Gallery, we ate there for the rest of our meals. The staff are kind and helpful and go out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful experience. We loved the crab cakes! French onion soup, steak sandwich, huevos rancheros and bass all delicious. I wholeheartedly recommend this superb restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank threekidsplustwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear threekidsplustwo,
Thank you for dining with at Gallery Restaurant multiple times during your hotel stay and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your fantastic feedback regarding our staff and cuisine. Our culinary team works hard to provide creative dishes full of flavor and strives to partner with as many local purveyors as possible. Thanks for recommending Gallery Restaurant, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne also viewed

 

Been to Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing