We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised - in a bad way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Charlotte
Ranked #119 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My experience with the Four Points brand was exceptional - until I arrived at this hotel. The best part of the visit was the interaction with the desk staff. Walking into a room of a familiar brand brings with it some expectations. I was sorely disappointed upon entering this room. The furniture was old, scuffed, and dented, there was a long hair on the bed linens, there were a couple bottle caps under a chair, the sheer curtains were clean - at least I am assuming they were because they were so wrinkled, and the drapes were frayed and wrinkled as well. Thankfully, I was staying only one night!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Church4b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Church4b,

Please accept our apologies for your experience with us at Four Points by Sheraton Charlotte. We are very sorry that you experienced issues in your guest room. Please note - we are currently undergoing a renovation and expect this to be completed within the year. This will include new furniture. We will also speak with housekeeping to ensure that they make sure to thoroughly clean all guest rooms. We hope that you will give us another shot the next time you travel to Charlotte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Four Points by Sheraton Charlotte
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 320 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

Hotel front desk agent thinks he funny and was very synical instead . Not a good first impression . Since when does a uniform include an old broach from your grandmothers jewel box go with a mans uniform ? The suite was nice and clean , but the air condition unit kept me awake all night as it cycles on and off with the loudest noise ever !!!!! No sleep for this weary traveler ! For Gods sake get an updated air unit that makes less noise !

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PHXman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear PHXman55,

We apologize for the experience you had here at Four Points Charlotte. Please rest assured that we are currently going through a thorough renovation of our property and we are working very hard to correct many of the issues here on property. We hope that you will give us another try on your return to Charlotte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

i'm torn about rating this hotel. I'll start with the good:

1) Evening Front Desk Staff. The older gentleman who works the front desk in the evenings is one of the best hotel front desk staff I've ever met in my thousands of nights in hotels all around the world.
2) Fitness Center. Very well equipped with dumbells, nautilus-type equipment, cardio equipment and both personal TVs on cardio and shared big screen TVs. Very impressive for a Four Points - better than many Sheratons I've been in.
3) SPG Platinum recognition. I received a suite upgrade; what more could I ask for?

Now the bad:
1) Hotel could use some TLC. The wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling off. The floor in the living room of my suite had a giant stain on it. Things seemed clean, just worn.
2) The entrance to the hotel has a covered parking area with a giant clearance sign on it - yet someone appears to have hit the overhang with a tall vehicle and the hotel hasn't bothered to fix it. A hotel which doesn't address major appearance issues like this on the outside most assuredly is a hotel which allows interior maintenance issues go as well.
3) The internet is essentially non functional. I received horrible connectivity speeds. 0.06Mb/s down and 0.71Mb/s up with a 210ms ping. This is literally 56k modem speed with worse ping. No internet means no work for me - and this basically ruined an otherwise OK stay. The wireless was also completely non-functional in the fitness center which sullied an otherwise great workout facility.

All in all, a stay ruined by completely preventable things. This hotel should try to keep its evening staff and have them train the rest of their staff on how to treat and behave around their customers. This includes not hanging around the front desk gossiping about whatever you're doing when you're not at work while your customers are leaving your hotel and making up their minds about whether they'll ever come back.

Don't waste your time or money here - drive an extra ten minutes to the amazing Four Points in Pineville; you'll rest easier.

Room Tip: There are ground floor rooms and the noise level is very low - easy in, easy out.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Geoffrey E,

We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay here at Four Points by Sheraton Charlotte. We are very happy that you enjoyed the evening front desk staff, and will pass on your kind comments. In reference to your feedback concerning the guest rooms and the overhang, we are currently in the midst of a renovation and are working hard to correct all of these issues. This includes the Internet as well - we are working to ensure that we have more bandwidth and more speed. We do hope you'll give us another chance on your next visit to Charlotte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a good location near the expressway and a few nice restaurants. The staff seems to be very helpful with a positive attitude. They really want to make your stay to be a great one. The problem is everything about the hotel is old and very, very worn out. The furniture in the room had worn out parts on almost every piece. The landscaping hasn't been touched in years. There were more weeds than grass. It's a shame the staff has to try and work in those conditions. The owner needs to reinvest some money into the place. I would not stay there again until it is remodeled.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArcherLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear ArcherLN,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad that our staff was able to help you and had a great attitude – we definitely want to make everyone feel at home. We would like to let you know that we are currently going through an extensive remodeling, and we expect this to be complete this fall. We do hope you will come back again and see us once we have finished this renovation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here for two nights since we were going to the NASCAR race in town. Convenient location, clean room, quiet, close to several restaurants and stores. Frustrated however that the person serving us knew nothing of Air Miles Vouchers and her colleagues weren't much help either. We ended up being billed the room then had to fight with Air Miles to get points reimbursed.

We were only there to sleep a few hours so all in all an okay experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyS1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael Z, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you very much for letting us know about your experience. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the staff's inability to process your mileage voucher. We make every effort to exceed our guest's highset expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel was pretty decent for the price i paid for it got it through my starwood program for $59 we had a King room which was not laid out how it was advertised but was alright for a one night stay. it was very clean but it did need a little paint on the walls and new carpet would not hurt other than that it was a good deal. Front desk guys where great and very helpful good location if you did not want to stay downtown Lynx rail line directly across the street that could get you downtown and back if you are a interested in not driving downtown.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoover05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael Z, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased to provide value rates for special events in Charlotte. The Hotel is in the beginning phases of refreshing our rooms. We look forward to the completion of this project early summer 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This property looks nice from the outside but rooms are very dated, smelly, and in need of renovation. Flat panel TV have poor grainy reception and wireless is so poor you cannot connect. I was booked here for three nights but cancelled and moved to the aloft after one. I could not handing this place for my entire stay. There are much better holes in the area for around the same price. Very very disappointing.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Adak4647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael Z, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. We apologize for the inconvenience concerning internet services. We are currently in the process of upgrading our internet service and expect this project to be completed late spring 2013.

Again, please accept our sincere apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Montclaire South
Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
HYATT house Charlotte Airport
#30 of 178 in Charlotte
589 reviews
Eagle Lake
Sleep Inn Billy Graham Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Charlotte

Address: 315 E Woodlawn Rd, Charlotte, NC 28217-2348
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range: $101 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Charlotte 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located near uptown Charlotte, Bank of America Stadium, and Lowe's Motor Speedway. We offer a complimentary fitness center, wifi, business center, airport and local area shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Charlotte Hotel Charlotte
4 Points By Sheraton Charlotte
Four Points Charlotte
Sheraton Charlotte
Charlotte Sheraton
Charlotte Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing