We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark
Ranked #83 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My family of 4 stayed in a 2br, 2 bath suite for 5 nights during relocation to Charlotte Room 317 We were extremely disappointed with this hotel. The hall smelled like a diaper genie for most of the stay. The tub was rusting and looked unclean. The doors had dark finger prints all over them. The art work in room was also covered in prints. The rug was frayed at entry. The edges of carpet where carpet meets wall was dirty. Breakfast was exactly the same everyday - and not particularly well stocked or cleaned. The sofa bed was in extremely poor condition. The sofa cushions were terribly soiled. Overall - terrible. Stay at Courtyard in Ballantyne - that is a nice hotel!!

Room Tip: You don't want a room that faces the basketball court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricltsp, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

We are greatly disappointed that your room did not meet your expectations. As I alluded to in my email to you last week, your room should not have been sold. Our housekeeping and maintenance departments should have never let that room become available to sale. I do apologize for inconvenience that we may have caused you. It is our intention to exceed each customers expectations each stay. We failed to live up to our own standards for your stay. We have, however, addressed these issues with our housekeeping and maintenance teamleaders. We do appreciate all of your feedback and have taken care of your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 250 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just stayed at this location with three of my girlfriends. The two bedroom suite that we had only had queen size beds as an option. This location would've been outstanding had we had the option to sleep in king size beds, which all of us are used to.

The room itself was lovely. Kitchen was great to have. Would have been nice to have more silverware and dishes beyond what the hotel had provided.

The breakfast offered in the mornings was okay. It was enough to tie you over, but nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranceJunkie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed here last weekend for work because the hotel where my conference was being held
was booked. I am so glad! Although this hotel is right across from the mall, it's set far enough back that it's really quiet. The bed was so comfortable I actually chuckled when I got in. Everything was very clean and well-taken-care-of. I didn't see any of the rundown-ness a few other reviewers experienced. The staff was friendly, and the breakfast was amazing. Eggs, sausage, waffles, coffee and tea, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit... I was thrilled with my stay. I already told my office I would like to come back if I come back to Charlotte!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LibbyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My family and I chose to stay here on a whim. We enjoyed our experience as this hotel is located within proximity to Southpark Mall and a host of restaurants. Its sits back too, which makes the location safe. Downtown (Uptown) Charlotte is only minutes away as well.

Because we arrived late (6:20 p.m.) only an executive suite was available. It was expensive, but it was spacious and well kept. I was not impressed with the breakfast, however. The desk clerk sung its praises the evening before, so I was expecting something really incredible. I thought it was like most breakfasts you'll find at most hotels--yogurts, sausage (eh), cereals, eggs (dry), oatmeal, etc.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Charlotte though.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

it's not Residence Inn's fault that its suite concept has been copied by numerous hotel chains but the rooms are still rather spacious and the kitchen (including full-size refrigerator) underscores the Residence part of the name.

But a stay of any length in any hotel comes with some reasonable expectations, primarily cleanliness and repair. Unfortunately, this property is in need of some upkeep (read: $$$) and attention to detail. Walls, doors and doorframes take a beating in hotels due to guests being careless, even violent, with their luggage but this shouldn't come as a surprise to the owners. Unfortunately, they are well behind the curve in cleaning and/or painting these stains and scuff marks:

Pic 1: http://goo.gl/qtZDi

Most areas/surfaces of the room were clean enough and there are flat-panel TVs in both the seating area and the bedroom. The bathroom, however, was a different story as rust (at least we hope it was rust) was quite evident on the floor of the tub:

Pic 2: http://goo.gl/TTEYu

Worse than rust is mildew and it was clearly present also:

Pic 3: http://goo.gl/P0bvR

In this day and age Internet service is no longer an amenity, it is viewed as a necessity like water or air conditioning. Even the most technophobic travelers often have an Internet-connected phone, tablet, etc. Why, then, do properties imagine they can spend very little on bandwidth and then divide that meager bandwidth among dozens of rooms/users?

A wired (Ethernet) connection could barely exceed 1 Mbps
Pic 4: http://goo.gl/7CVVC

Wireless speed? Unknown. The property offers WiFi service but it is so slow as to be practically unusable. In fact, a speed test couldn't even be generated due to the WiFi's lack of bandwidth:
Pic 5: http://goo.gl/SZhTG

Given that most users rely exclusively on wireless Internet (laptops, phones, tablets) this borders on a deal-breaker, especially for a business traveler who must rely on a property's Internet service in order to send/receive large files, attachments, etc.

Breakfast is the now-familiar continental self-service variety with average quality and the usual complement of guests who, despite their girth, are apparently starving to death, such is the zeal with which they elbow aside their fellow man.

This property, in a very convenient location, can probably be rehabilitated but, as before, it will require investment and initiative. The penny wise/pound foolish approach no longer works in hospitality, especially with sites like TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, those in the hospitality industry are often reluctant to face up to this reality.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pickngrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricltsp, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. From you review it looks like you had some issues as a guest in our hotel. The internet bandwith issue is currently being addressed. Unfortunately, it does take some time as our provider is having to run fiber optics lines from the end of the street to our building. It should be completed by mid August and you will see a dramatic increase in bandwith which is very important to travelers today. Our maintenance department is addressing all bath tubs as wear on the tubs does cause rust spots to appear. They are going into every room and repairing tubs as needed. They are also addressing any issues from daily wear and tear in the rooms as well. Thanks for bringing this to our attention. I just wanted to let you know that these issues are being addressed and I think that you will see a big difference on you next stay.

Best regards,
David Callihan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

It's right beside Southpark Mall and several great restaurants. Rooms are huge, clean, and comfortable. Staff is friendly. Breakfast is okay. I was in town on short notice and they were very helpful and accomodating- free toothbrush! I'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the parking deck. Less walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IceCold40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Second occasion to stay here. Great furnishings and spacious rooms. Full-size frig in kitchenette. Close to luxury mall. Walking distance to many shops and grocery stores. In door pool covered parking. Quiet business park. Friendly staff. Wet bar for those in need. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Courtyard Charlotte SouthPark
#75 of 180 in Charlotte
231 reviews
Barclay Downs
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - SouthPark
Montclaire South
Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barclay Downs
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark

Address: 6030 Piedmont Row Drive South, Charlotte, NC 28210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Barclay Downs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#46 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $99 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly renovated, all-suite hotel is just around the corner from the SouthPark Mall and provides convenient access to all of Charlotte. This Residence Inn by Marriott hotel in Charlotte NC has all comforts of home, including high definition LCD TV, free high-speed Wi-Fi, and spacious studio, 1 or 2-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens. Enjoy the hot complimentary breakfast in the morning, or wind down at night with free beer and wine at The Mix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charlotte Southpark Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing