We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charlotte was great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Ranked #25 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charlotte was great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed on a Saturday and Sunday night. Saturday was crowded and the bachelorette party next door was loud but luckily not to late! Sunday was quiet and serene. Room was large and comfortable! Front desk service was good. Breakfast on Sunday Morning, when we arrived a half hour before the end, was out of most food. The bagel and coffee we did get was good. Next time we're going to try the Hyatt House and see how they compare, they are almost next door, just in sight of the hyatt place.

Room Tip: ask for the city side of the building!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CowboyCurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    178
    66
    33
    16
See reviews for
157
131
20
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stan279
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

My family and I have been to quite a few Hyatt Places over the years for weekend trips. To start with this Hyatt Place, just like the others is well kept, modern, with great staff. The decor and rooms for all of them are very very similar which is not a bad thing at all. The only thing that we were not completely pleased with was that our room had a very musky smell in it as did some of our other friends and family (we were part of a 40 guest room slot for a wedding). Aside from that we loved our stay. Beautiful rooftop restaurant/bar (Charlotte's only indoor outdoor rooftop restaurant/bar from what we were told) and free breakfast (food was actually really good. It gets busy around 9am so eat earlier). The hotels location is walkable to a nice mall and a bunch of great restaurants. Concierge was always ready to help point us in the direction of something delicious. I highly suggest Merks (Amaaaaazing southern food!).
Overall, for the price we paid, our stay was great and we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stan279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Had a one day stay and person at the front desk in the lobby was wonderful. He made sure we were comfortable and made excellent suggestions on what to do the next day. Truly wonderful experience!! I would definitely recommend this hotel to everybody. Great location and amazing service.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolita129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We booked from booking.com and called ahead 1 week, and then 1 day in advance to make sure we would have our room. Both times we were assured we would have 2 queen size beds and a pullout couch. Upon arriving we were told they had no more room like that available and put us in a smaller room. We asked for extra blankets ave pillows at night since we had less bedding to accommodate our party and they said they didn't have any due to being full. That is ridiculous. Also there is NO free parking. You either pay $20 for valet or $6 every 12 hours to park on the street. It's a nice hotel but needs a lot of work in customer service, management and the basic needs for guests. Will never stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacymarie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Nice, newer, Hyatt property with a great location. You actually enter the hotel off 3rd street. I used gold passport points for this stay for a weekend away and booked the Boardroom Suite. Huge room. Valet $20, which is not bad. Even numbered rooms face the Charlotte skyline and the view is really nice especially at night. We were on the 14th floor and it had a great view. Nice rooftop deck. Friendly staff. Typical breakfast spread in the mornings with Starbucks coffee. Quick walk to just about anywhere...Epicenter, Arena, Uptown bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face the Charlotte skyline for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale AZ.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

you don't just have a front dest person,and a snack bar person,and then a little bar tucked around the corner. you have a HOST that will take care of you for everything. all in a very open comfortable lobby. A lobby that you feel as if you can work , entertain guests, eat dinner and unwind with a drink all in the same space. Then there are the rooms,king bed,sofa,arm chair,and mini kitchen. if your stay is more than one night, the Hyatt Place concept is the only option.Just a BIG thanks to the staff Nnica , mgr. and hosts Zac & Brice and to housekeeping team "Boy you all go out of your way"Thank you

Room Tip: corner rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

You enter this hotel in an alley and then go through the condominium entrance and ride the 10th floor to get to the hotel lobby. Staff was pleasant but seemed confused about why they were there; pretty slow. Lobby very plain - reminded me of an inexpensive suburban hotel. Nice room and very big. Had to get to another elevator to go to restaurant. Just a strange piece of real estate. Valet parkers were good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oibboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
First Ward
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Address: 222 S Caldwell St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2793
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing