We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food. Great place!”
Review of Cajun Yard Dog

Cajun Yard Dog
Ranked #82 of 2,404 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Restaurant details
Charlotte
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Outstanding food. Great place!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

I discovered this place by a recommendation and I've eaten here twice already this month. Food is delicious. The staff is very attentive and prices are very reasonable for quality of food. Besides their regular menu items they also run daily specials which is great. So far i've ordered the shrimp & fried oysters special and on second visit the fried chicken over rice/beans. Their bread pudding is amazing. In summary, great place to visit. Only caveat is it can get very busy so you may have waiting time but only because it's so popular and good.

Helpful?
Thank JayMoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    32
    11
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic food with a great menu”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Great variety of food. Fried chicken, blackened meatloaf and the gumbo are all fantastic. Staff is so friendly and a great atmoshere. We love going there for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ten Mile, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Wish I would have been there earlier for their specials. The food was great and plentiful, with a great taste. I will be back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cool, laid back..... Tasty!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We love this spot. It's got a cool atmosphere and has great food. We frequent a lot of Cajun places, and this along with Razzoos are out favorites!

Helpful?
Thank Travelbird4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Taste of the Bayou”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I 've eaten in New Orleans several times and this is as close as it gets in Charlotte. Always busy, upbeat and authentic New Orleans atmosphere. Food is excellent - but not the best place to go if your counting calories. But it tastes gooood! Always a nice selection of craft beer and the staff has been there forever. If you like their hot sauce you can order some and take it home with you. Our favorites are the shrimp and grits and any blacken fish of the day. They have TV's playing sports and you can go single or with the family.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cajun Yard Dog also viewed

 

Been to Cajun Yard Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing