We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brick oven Good”
Review of Trio

Trio
Reserve with OpenTable
Trio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #93 of 2,403 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Johnston Road
Description: Trio provides a blend of traditional and contemporary foods. Salads, sandwiches, pizzas, steak, seafood and pasta all house made and served in a cozy and unique dining environment. You may choose to dine in a lively bar area, in cozy booths with views of the landscaped outdoors, in an open central area with linen-dressed tables and our warm wood-burning pizza oven, in a semi-private room, or "al fresco" on our patio. Our restaurant is a smoke-free establishment.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brick oven Good”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is the last of three restaurants from one great culinary brain. There is nothing bad on the menu, service is friendly and warm. Food will tickle your tastebuds and fill your belly! Try the "killer dressing" on a yummy salad. Just perfect!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MsKat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    46
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Warm atmosphere and excellent food”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you want to enjoy a very nice gourmet lunch or dinner, this is the place. It has an intimate yet lively atmosphere. For our first visit we stopped for coffee and dessert on a recommendation from an acquaintance. We were so impressed with the wonderful desserts that are homemade and unique that we decided to return the next time we were in Charlotte.

We had lunch there and had the best soup - chicken kielbasa. But we had a hard time decding on the rst of the meal because the selection is wonderful. Once again we were more than pleased.

So whether you want a romantic setting or interesting bar setting this is the place.

Lunch or dinner you will be pleased.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolinacouple_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte nc
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Favorite South Charlotte American Food”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The service is very good and I am always greeted by the Manager when dining at Trio.
The MULLIGATAWNY Soup is fabulous, thick with chicken bites, carrot and potato in a creamy, lightly seasoned with curry base. GRILLED LEMON PEPPER SALMON with creamed cauliflower and roasted asparagus is my favorite dinner meal. Trio is very good about taking substitutions to suit your dietary needs. The salads are fresh and colorful, with wonderful dressings to choose from. There is outdoor seating, booth seating, open area table seating and a room for large groups to reserve. Gary the manager told me that late Oct- early Nov 2012 there will be many renovations including the carpet, painting, booth fabric and more. Currently in the month of October there are about 8 Lobster specials. The Lobster Salad with asparagus was Huge! and delicious! Almond Basket with Trio Ice Cream is another favorite dessert. There are lots of healthy fresh options at Trio, combined with very friendly Staff, makes this my favorite Charlotte restaurant! My advise to customers that have an unhappy experience at Any restaurant is to speak up and ask for a manager to help you out. Everyone makes mistakes now and then --- and I know that at Trio, they bend over backward to Make It Right!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catamia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always welcome”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We really enjoy eating in the bar. The specials of the month are always extremely good and the service is extremely friendly. Trio makes you feel at home with good food, reasonable prices and nice people.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Celebrate or Just Have Dinner”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Perfect venue for that amazing birthday celebration or the night you are just too tired to figure out dinner. Either way there is elegance yet simplicity found. Food excellent. Wait staff excellent. Menus excellent. Management staff always visible and present in all ways. Amazing pizza, entree salads, and interesting dinner, brunch and specials. Know that your experience is consistently the same.....excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GingerT950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trio also viewed

 

Been to Trio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing