We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag”
Review of Sushi 101

Sushi 101
Ranked #1,078 of 2,376 Restaurants in Charlotte
Restaurant details
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is in a good location (Promenade on Providence) with nice ambience with modern look. Sushi is cheap; almost all pieces are either $1 or $2. The quality is... well, you get what you pay for. Each nigiri (traditional sushi) was ridiculously small! Again, you get what you pay for. The rolls have more adequate volume, though.

Helpful?
Thank icandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food & good specials!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I have to admit, this restaurant is too small, too loud and not very nice, but the food is DELICIOUS. Their sushi tastes so fresh and their yakitori skewers are mouth-watering. They have a great menu with many different choices so everyone in your party is bound to find something they would like to order. I don't go here that often because I don't like being so close to the tables around me, but when I'm looking to save some money while not sacrificing quality, this is my go-to.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jbrow152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
152 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Loud for my taste”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

The good was ok. Nothing to write home about. But the help and place is loud. Waitresses think they are hotsy totsy. And think they are working in a gold mine this place I'd nothing over the top. It's just your average food. But loud it sure is

Helpful?
Thank STANTONSEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My go-to sushi place”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Love this place! For sushi, the prices are very good and the food is delicious. You can see them making the rolls right at the sushi bar! I always come here, it is so good!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurenhall0226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great sushi & prices!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Sushi for dinner tonight was awesome. We are so glad we found this Resturant. Everything was fresh and tasty. We had a few rolls, the spicy tuna was our favorite. The edamame was great. Our bill for 3 was only $54!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cbbeachbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi 101 also viewed

 

Been to Sushi 101? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing