We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non-authentic”

Zapatas Cantina Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #938 of 2,376 Restaurants in Charlotte
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner
Neighborhood: Ballantyne East
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Non-authentic”
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for authentic Mexican - this isn't the place to go. My husband & I moved here from TX and we have yet to find authentic Mexican or even Tex-Mex. at Zapata's, I asked for queso and the waiter had no idea what it was. When I said cheese dip, he understood. But it was runny & watery. Margaritas tasted like our juice. Not great service either. We won't go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    27
    20
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Situated within spitting distance from the Hilton University in Charlotte this little Mexican gem offers tasty food at a good price. The atmosphere is suitable for families or business and the portions are big. Consider Zapatas as a nice alternative to the lame dining options around that hotel.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TrickTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Mexican for family”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Love this restaurant. Start with menu. Plent of Mexican variety to choose from, but I have at least 4 staples to rotate. Next the atmosphere is great family environment that we enjoy. Price is very reasonable too Lastly the service is always great. The staff respects their patrons and management is good as well. We do have our favorite waitress that has been serving us for over 8 years now. Just anted to give this place a well deserve 5 star review.
Frank

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fabirdman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Meal was awful”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I had fish tacos and the fish itself was old and my husband had bland tasting Carnitas. The restaurant itself is nice inside but the food is not worth the visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Entwistle_bunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never going back...”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Terrible service every time, from the host to the server. Mediocre attempt at Mexican food. I wouldn't return if you paid me to eat there and you bought my dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Mel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zapatas Cantina Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing