We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Disappointment.....”
Review of Omaha Steak House - CLOSED

Omaha Steak House
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Eagle Lake
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment.....”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My husband has an event at the hotel a couple times a year (typically 15 people). We always have dinner here at least 2 nights. I am not sure if they have changed chef's or what but it was less then acceptable for what you pay for. The steak had a good flavor but was way over cooked. The next night I had the chicken. It was bland and over cooked. I was not the only one who was disappointed with their meal. Because of the number of people they gave us a prefixed menu in order to help the kitchen out, so you would think they could get it right. The restaurant was not busy at all so that should not have created the problem.
The staff was ok, not great but very accommodating. We like to eat there so we do not have to leave the hotel. Might have to rethink that for future events.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    44
    40
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Wine”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I've eaten at this restaurant before, and the food is good. On this visit, I just had a few glasses of wine. The waiter was attentive, and the wine was great. Pricey, but great.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank EthnicFoodJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrills Ford, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Felt like a cafeteria”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We came in around 9:00 to get a few appetizers and drinks. We went into the lounge: the atmosphere was "tired"! Too much light and dated! But we were hungry so we ordered. The Blackened Beef Tips were good as was the dipping sauce. The calamari was simply nothing more than tiny rubber bands covered in buckets of tempura batter. Yuck! The steam broccoli was really good but two orders were $8.00! Yes it's in Embassy Suites, yes it was convenient, and yes the girl behind the bar was friendly. But my guess is you are not drawing customers from outside the hotel and the next time will guest at the hotel "make due" or venture out! It's time for some paint and wallpaper!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zo6man34531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food but nothing super special”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Expensive, which is expected for a steakhouse. But it wasnt anything special. Had the steak sandwich, wife had steak salad. Good, but nothing to wow you. But its nice to be able to eat at the same restaurant at the hotel youre staying at and not travel out from Embassy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathaniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good meal, So-So atmosphere”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Steak dinner and Pork Chop dinner were both very good. Just wouldn't go out of our way again to eat here. No atmosphere, too kid-friendly (because of the hotel?), too suburbanite feeling. Wait staff was very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathypeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omaha Steak House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing