We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent evening!”

Luce Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Luce Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 2,389 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: First Ward
Cross street: North Tryon & 5th
Transit: You can use the LYNX Light Rail Blue Line and get off on the CTC/Arena station and walk towards 5th street. Walk west on 5th, one block, to the Hearst Tower located on the corner of 5th and College. Luce in located on the Tryon level of the Hearst Tower in the courtyard.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent evening!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My wife and I dined here for the first time recently. We enjoyed everything about the experience ... ambiance, food (appetizer & entrees), service & price.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UVAsoccerdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    58
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Central, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance and decent food but slow service”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

This is a downtown restaurant that looks like it caters to business diners. It has high ceilings and a stark modernist vibe. Service was competent yet slow. Food was well prepared from the relatively short and simple menu. Prices were reasonable for the location.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank joylama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wow. RUDE & Zero Edicate - Manager. ”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Situation : 2:26 pm Friday.
We come in for lunch. Told by what appears to be the manager, shorter man, balding, thin stature, that "we are closed"
Wow. Obviously this man has never owned a restaurant nor should be in the industry.
Doors were open, posted in the window, lunch served till 2:30 .Way to lose business and the many that will read this review.
If management does respond I was considering taking a picture of my watch. But I didn't want to to be so tacky.

Helpful?
3 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian in Uptown”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Ate lunch at Luce for co-worker's birthday. Excellent Italian food. I had veal piccata with sautéed spinach. Very tasty. Prices are a tad high for a typical business lunch but you get what you pay for. Staff is very attentive. Parking in GeRst Tower was a bit of a pain. If you were coming in off of Tryon, or walking up from Lynx (train), very convenient.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Charlotte gem”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We travel to NYC often and have the opportunity to try many of the numerous restaurants in Manhattan. Luce is right up there with some of the best Italian restaurants we've been to and then some! It's not a big place but has a very cozy and warm ambiance. It's a great place for a date or a special occasion. Now on to the food..it's to die for! Everything we tried was absolutely delectable and perfectly prepared. I had the fish special for the evening, snapper, and it was perfect. The service was impeccable and prices are very reasonable. I can't wait to go again!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luce Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Luce Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing