We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner with friends”
Review of Dish

Dish
Ranked #63 of 2,376 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Morgantown
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dinner with friends”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stopped in Charlotte to stay over nite with friends and let them pick the restaurant. They picked the Dish and it was an excellent choice. There chicken and dumplings were the best ever. Save room for dessert too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    104
    27
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great comfort food!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Dish is just a cool place to eat and this is from a 62 year old and not a teenager. The food is great and the atmosphere is pretty funky. I like it and keep going back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lavorato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Home Soul Food”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

What more can i say its just like Grandma would make. All taste home made, great atmosphere, and its been on Diners, Drive ins, and Dives. Local art hangs on the walls, NO frills just great food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joshua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catskill
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Go there and have the chicken and dumplings”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My review title says it all. The best ever. Saw this place on Diner's, Drive-in and Dives. Thanks for the heads up Guy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Food”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I almost gave this 3 stars because the service was so slow but the food was worth the extra star. I had chicken dumplings and macaroni and both were good. My hubby had the pot roast and mashed potatoes and he enjoyed both. He had a side of pintos that he didn't care for. The biscuits are really good; in fact, we ordered more. To top it all off, we had a piece of the chocolate pecan pie which was yummy. I only wish it was served warm with ice cream instead of cold with whip cream on top. I plan on going back for one more try. Hopefully the service will be better next time around. Just such a waste to have such great food but poor service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeannaS322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dish also viewed

 

Been to Dish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing