We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME DELI”

Bedder Bedder & Moore
Ranked #556 of 2,403 Restaurants in Charlotte
Price range: $10 - $12
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Neighborhood: Madison Park
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Madison Park
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AWESOME DELI”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you like soup and sandwiches you will LOVE BEDDER BEDDER AND MOORE. I have been in Charlotte for 9 years and been to quite a few sandwich shops. No one can touch this one. The soup was amazing and the sandwich had the perfect amount of everything. Today was my first visit and I can tell you its probably going to be on my once a week list for lunch. I had number 870 The Turkey Swiss with Honey Mustard with the Black Bean and Chicken soup..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dollboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“OMG!! This is beyond food porn for the palate!!!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I literally stumbled upon the South Tryon location during a one-day get away to Charlotte. I was starving and in an unknown neighborhood at lunchtime and came across this place in a nondescript strip mall. I made one of those "What the hay?" decisions to double back after initially walking past and can't tell you how right that decision was. The decor is OK and the service items are questionable on the surface as everyone is provided with plastic utensils and drinks come in styrofoam cups. Apparently most entrees come in plastic baskets with waxed paper liners and most everyone receives a single serving size bag of potato chirps as their side. I make no pretenses of being a gormand but the above elements would normally set off my internal alarms. Let me add that the service was slow at first (it seemed like I waited 10 minutes for the waitress to come to my table and make initial contact) but improved greatly afterward (to her credit I arrived at approx. 1pm which wast he height of their lunch rush). The first thing I notice on the regular menu is that most items are the same price 8.49. I'm a glass-half-full kind of guy and figure this is advantageous; instead of being assaulted by a myriad of tempting entrees AND prices you only have to deal with the tempting entrees. The weekly special menu had three items (from memory, I want to say a sandwich, a salad and perhaps a wrap--all for the same 8.49). This made it easy for me to decide among the countless tempting entrees. If you order the GREEN GRILLED CHEESE sandwich you will ascend to foodie nirvana. It won't matter if you get struck by lightening as you exit this place, you will have achieved PERFECT FOOD ENLIGHTENMENT. This sandwich starts with pesto-infused bread (which I assume is artesinal but who knows?) In between are slabs of mozarella and whole spinach leaves. The result is that the pesto, cheese and spinach explode into sensory cartwheels on your tongue. The regular side with this order is macaroni salad. I opted for fries for a hefty substitution fee (perhaps 2.49). I don't know what the fries were coated with but each individual fry tasted like an authentic NYC potato kinish. TRUST ME, THIS IS A GOOD THING! Unknown to me (if it was mentioned in the menu I missed it), everyone gets a soup du jour, served in a styrofoam bowl. I initially left mine untouched because I thought the waitress had delivered it by mistake. But when she brought my entree--and I realized that everyone in the restaurant was brought soup as their first course, I dug in. It was three bean chicken chili. So how do you think hot, spicy soup was on a hot, sticky day? IT WAS SUBLIME! This coming from someone who dislikes spicy food and thus avoids chili like the plague! WAY TO GO, BB&M--you are singlehandedly responsible for turning me over to the dark side (if you consider spicy chili the dark side). My only complaint is that it took me the better part of a day to figure out the pun in this restaurant/deli's name. I'm a member of Mensa--so I can only attribute this cognitive delay to the massive endorphin rush from this meal. The afterglow lasted for hours. If you willingly choose NOT to eat here you clearly need to schedule a psychiatric evaluation.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Lunch!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

A colleague brought me here. The complimentary soup was delicious. Although they were out of their German Sauerkraut, the Broccoli Casserole soup hit the mark. I went with the New York Style Reuben and was very happy with my choice. For my first visit to BB&M, it was a great lunch!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MyasisDragon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Locals love it but I don't know why!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I met a friend for lunch and we ordered cheese burgers. I thought everyone could make a cheese burger but I was wrong. Bedder Bedder & Moore serves a bacon cheese burger with meat that may or may not have been beef. It did not taste like beef and I am not certain what it was. But it was horrible. The only food worthwhile on the plates were the hot and crispy fries. I was too tired to complain and the place was packed with locals.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MsBBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rosemery Roast Beef”
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Ate the Rosemary Roast Beef and it was GREAT. Comes with great dipping sauce. Free cup of soup with each order so don't buy a cup.
Employees aim to please and appear to be good folks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ohyeahgoat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bedder Bedder & Moore also viewed

 

Been to Bedder Bedder & Moore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing