We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Thai Food”
Review of Thai Orchid

Thai Orchid
Ranked #443 of 2,376 Restaurants in Charlotte
Cuisines: American, Asian, Thai
Good for: Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
229 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thai Food”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We have eaten at numerous Thai restaurants in Charlotte. We just had lunch and found our new favorite Thai place. The food was delicious and we were served very quickly. We each chose an item from the lunch menu and were very pleased with our selections. We will be returning for dinner soon. I did notice that they had a nice selection of reasonably priced wine to choose from for dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluelu1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere/Good Food for a Casual Restaurant”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

There are Thai restaurants with equally good food that are closer to my house, but this is my choice when meeting friends from other parts of town as it is in a good central location. This is a small family restauraunt and the owner is usually on site to welcome you back. In my experience, the wait staff has been pretty knowledgeable about making recommendations. The food is good, but not outstanding.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjohn416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Charlotte”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Consistent, friendly, flavorful dishes - Just what we like in family restaurants.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank jamesgangx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My Thai Go To Place”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Charlotte's Thai restuarants tend to do good jobs. Thai Orchid happens to be close to my home. Tucked away in a quiet spot in Strawberry Hill you feel you are escaping from the daily routine and the staff are friendly and efficient. You don't have to visit often to be remembered. The food is varied, well prepared, and reasonably priced. I am stuck on the curry dishes but there is lots more.

Helpful?
1 Thank BentleyOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Charlotte”
Reviewed September 23, 2009

I have been going to Thai Orchard since they opened, almost 20 years. Every dish I have had has been good, some I like better than others, but am never disappointed.

The grilled chicken is my favorite and the steamed dumpling are wonderful, The Ma Grab is also a great dish.

The prices are still from the 1990's

Service is very good and is a family owned place. Enjoy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gb64c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Orchid also viewed

 

Been to Thai Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing