We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so-so food”
Review of Aquavina - CLOSED

Aquavina
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Second Ward
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“so-so food”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The restaurant was a little hard to find. It located in uptown Charlotte. There are only a few tables so that can extend the wait time. The atmosphere was very nice although a little confusing. You do havethe option of sitting outside. I ordered the grilled chicken. I felt it didnt have much flavor and the serving size seemed a little small. I guess since was paying over $25 I was hoping to have some left to take home. My boyfriend hadthe steak which was very well flavored. They do tend to undercook. He ordered med rare and it was still pretty rare. The prices are a little high. The service was great and they do have an excellent wine list. The martinis looked pretty good too. Over all I would not go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janet a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    7
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiickenburg, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Will go again!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Great location, food and service. Ate outside on second floor patio. A little pricey but atmosphere and time spent there with friends and relatives was amazing. No pressure to leave once the meal was complete. Waitress was fantastic and very attentive.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank WickenburgGCHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Insane prices”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Some of the food is good, I will give them that. My risotto on both visits has been excellent and the spinach salad can't get much better...On our first visit the catch of the day (grouper) was wonderful...this time my salmon was a bit overdone, though. BUT...My boyfriend ordered a steak...a rather expensive $36 steak. And that is what he got. A Steak. No sides...no salad...nothing. He had to order a salad and potatoes separately as they were a la carte items...I have never been to a steakhouse where your steak came with NOTHING!!! Furthermore...he asked for tomatoes on his house salad and NO DRESSING...he got 4 tomato wedges covered in dressing...and then when our bill came...we noticed that there had been an extra charge for the tomatoes!!! Really??? When your bill for 2 is close to $100 and you have to pay extra for a tomato...right in the middle of summer when tomatoes are plentiful??? Come on Aquavina...!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank P Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden haven”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This place deserves a second glance!! It has changed from years before. The service is warm and friendly. The owner even came to the table several times! He was very professional and kind. The courtyard area is beautiful and a bit "tucked away". The crab fondue, lobster mac and cheese, and salmon was fantastic. Bottles of wine were fairly priced. Best dining experience yet in Charlotte. Music on the patio when we came on Friday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average food in uptown Charlotte.”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Visiteed for restaurant week for a special occasion. Wait staff were pleasant. Ceaser salad was good. Members of the group who had the wedge did not finish it. Entrees were Okay, not exceptional. Chocolate cake for dessert was a little dry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing