We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York Jewish Deli in Charlotte”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
New York Deli & Restaurant
Ranked #1,562 of 2,389 Restaurants in Charlotte
Price range: $10 - $14
Description: We are New York style Jewish Deli Restaurant. We are open for LUNCH and Breakfast. We are also open for BREAKFAST on Saturday and Sunday. Try our sandwich. Try our Katz size or New York size sandwich if you are really hungry.
Restaurant details
Description: We are New York style Jewish Deli Restaurant. We are open for LUNCH and Breakfast. We are also open for BREAKFAST on Saturday and Sunday. Try our sandwich. Try our Katz size or New York size sandwich if you are really hungry.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“New York Jewish Deli in Charlotte”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have taken many of my New York friends here and everyone loves this place. The sandwiches are fantastic and the Reuben is their signature sandwich. The cheesecake is flown in from NY and is the best in Charlotte. Don't miss this out of the way deli.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bluelu1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    2
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth the effort to track it down”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

You'll have to do a little work to find Katz'. It's on the back side of a shopping area. But if you want great deli fare, you'll make the effort. The Reuben is legendary. All the fresh meats are great, and if you want the traditional Jewish Deli fare (regardless of your religion), this is the place to get it.

I've gotten potato salad, pickles, cole slaw, and cheesecake (all to die for) to take out many times. Take them home and grill burgers to go with them for a great meal for us and for our guests.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jewish in Charlotte”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Katz Deli is a little out of the way...it is on the back street of the '3 bank shopping center' on the southeast corner of Providence and 51. How is that for a direction!
I'm not Jewish but I enjoy the 'feeling' in the deli, the clientelle (primarily Jewish but surely not entirely) and certainly...the food.
Eggs on pastrami with potato pancakes! The whole rueben...half is plenty and i am an eater. The 'rustic rueben salad' is a neat way to feel like you are eating healthy but get the taste of the rueben...lettuce / no bread. Ha! Try it.
Lately we are on the 'cold plate'. Great lunch...great value.
Of course there is plenty of lox, bagel boxes etc. White fish is great. The chopped chicken liver and corned beef sandwich on rye! Yikes! I am getting hungry!
See you at Katz. Say hi to Lee Katz who is usually greeting and behind the counter.
Enjoy! Tim Ford

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Matzo ball soup & the Works!”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

A great little real NYC Jewish deli right across the Arboretum on Pineville-Matthews Rd. Discovered this by accident when we drove 2our realtors office for a house search. We moved 2 Charlotte from NJ 7 yrs ago & have been eating here ever since! Fantastic authentic Jewish deli food to eat in or take out: all the sandwiches you want, great corned beef/pastrami, etc, great pickles, potato salad & Cole slaw, matzo ball soup, hummus platters, latakes, breakfast items too. Many items flown down from NYC, the rye bread is wonderful.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank loomis1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Consistently good Deli Fare”
Reviewed July 10, 2010

My family and I have been loyal customers to Katz Deli for the past seven years. We come here for lunch and brunch often. I love the fish platter. Great turkey, roast beef and liver sandwiches as well. It's a no frills restaurant with good food. Lee Katz is also a very friendly owner/manager.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahRamatAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Deli & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to New York Deli & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing