We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too bad and not too good either.”
Review of Chicken Box

Chicken Box
Ranked #1,203 of 2,372 Restaurants in Charlotte
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not too bad and not too good either.”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Well my sister lives in Charlotte and she told me aboit this spot because they specialize in soul food. I was in Charlotte on some other business when my friend and were hungry and wanted something good to eat. I suggested Chicken Box, like most say the outside apperance not appealing at all and the inside looks like an old run-down mcdonalds. The ribs are overpriced and they were so dry it seemed they were old and they poured a lot of BBQ sauce over them too mask the old texture. Yhe fish was good (bone) but fryed too hard. Good veggies and cornbread though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank notjudgemental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Drove that far for this!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I kept seein commercials for yhis place all the way in Durham, i eas visiting a friend and made a big to do about eatin at the chicken box before we do anything....well pull up to the restaurant, not appealing at all...get inside just what o expected old outside, old inside...but still determined to eat and prove the appearance of da building had no affect on da food.....cashier/food order taker, smh had no people skills, nor good
Listening skills, order all wrong....still determined to enjoy this food..chicken horrible, sides horrible.....just not what i thought for what was suppose to be down home cooking....if that was downhome someone was just learning how to cook...sorry this place food is just how iy looks on da inside and ouy...A Hotttt Mess!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Opici B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Chicken in a Box....yep.”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I'm not impressed. For a southern chicken restaurant I expected more. Every thing was over salted. The pork ribs, I'm so ashamed. They taste like they were cooked in an over or boiled. They had no BBQ grill taste at all. Then they just smothered them in bbq sauce...poor. The fried squash was terrible. Sliced, coated and fried? Any southern knows that you cut them up with yellow onions and skew them down until tender. Squash should not be served like fried green tomatoes....that's just lazy. Collard greens need work also. Chicken? Lets just say "It's Bo -Time". Over priced for the quality. Maybe they could stop running commercials and concentrate on food quality.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Newbious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
152 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“I love eating at the Box!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a very simple, very unpretentious, small restaurant with great southern style soul food! A large selection of combo plates - meat and three types. The chicken wings are really good but the side dishes (mac and cheese) and vegetables (fried squash) are what keep me coming back!
Good tea. Good corn bread. Always good service!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim4249541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
206 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A great southern food casual restaurant”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This place is great! It is walking distance from the Historic Rosedale Plantation, which was nice since we got to the plantation a bit early and needed to eat lunch before the tour. Definitely a local place. Basic furnishings inside. Somewhat clean inside, but the food is so great. Excellent fried chicken. They have everything you can think of offering southern comfort food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chicken Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing