We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice atmosphere, weak cocktail”

Firebirds Wood Fired Grill
Ranked #40 of 2,386 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Firebirds Wood Fired Grill is located near Regal Stonecrest at Piper Glen Stadium 22 in StoneCrest Shopping Center. We offer authentic wood-fired steaks, seafood, specialty cocktails and select wines. Join us for Bar Bite specials Monday thru Friday 4PM - 6:30PM and Saturday & Sunday 11AM - 5PM in the FIREBAR(R) and on the Patio. Enjoy Happy Hour drink specials all day Wednesday. We offer top-notch service and upscale dining at a modest price. Visit us online to learn more.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere, weak cocktail”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I'll start out with the negative comment first. My cocktail was pretty weak and skimpy. But, that was the only real negative. Our dinner was quite good. We shared an appetizer (the lobster queso) and enjoyed it. The bread on the table was nice, as well. For dinner, I had a rib eye. My husband had another cut - I can't remember. But, we both enjoyed our entrees. Service was excellent. We would definitely go again. Next time, we might bring the kids. One tip - we used the valet parking and it was worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathyDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    83
    31
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A $10 cocktail should be more than a weak, partially filled glass.”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We love the salad and bread this restaurant offers. The service was less than good and one of my pet peeves is to order a cocktail that tastes like they forgot the liqueur and its delivered in a glass that's only 2/3 full. If its a mini drink, put it in a mini glass and charge accordingly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skysis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, North Carolina
1 review
“Mediocre Service”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just to let you know the food was great. But as always happens when you have a party of 6 to 8 or more the gratuity is added on so the servers have no reason to give more than mediocre service, and as you know that means barely adequate. We were given 2 servers for our party of 8 adults and 1 child, and the manager and bus people were more help then the 2 servers. After we were finished we recieved our bills and about 15 minutes later the manager was going by and we ask if he could take our bills and cash us out. We appreciate great food and great service and tip pretty stupid when we get it 22% to 25% well we made sure everyone at the table knew the tip is already added don't leave any more, and yes we are aware we could have had the tip taken off or lowered. We are not looking for or expect anything, we will give Firebirds another try, the food was great we want our next visit to be GREAT FOOD & GREAT SERVICE.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Seared and Juicy”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

July 4th weekend when every restaurant in the area is packed, we decided at 8p to try Firebirds. It was a good choice though. The wait-time was said to be 55mins but I found a table near the bar and was able to be seated immediately. The service was attentive and frequent. I order the Cilantro-Grilled Chicken Breast Smoked tomato jack cheese sauce, with garden fresh vegetable (carrots, zucchini and squash) instead of Parmesan mashed potatoes (hey a girl has to watch her weight) lol. My guest had the Pecan Crusted Trout Topped with cilantro peach salsa, (with veggies also) but it comes with tortilla slaw. The food arrived hot and eye appealing. We did not have drinks or dessert. The meal total was around $45 bucks. Firebirds also has an awesome bar and side patio.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeannie2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing--”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stopped by Firebirds for a quick Sunday evening meal. From the start, the service was lackluster and the food was very disappointing. They were very nice about splitting a meal and the servings were generous, but nothing tasted very good. It was nearly impossible to get a drink refill. I doubt we will give Firebirds another try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wombat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firebirdsgrill, Guest Relations Manager at Firebirds Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Wombat21,

Thank you for the valuable feedback regarding your recent visit to Firebirds. I am so sorry to hear that we did not execute our usual standard of hospitality. We strive for perfection each day and when we fall short, it is imperative that we rectify the situation. I will be sharing your review with our management team and would love to have someone reach out to you. Would you kindly email me with your contact information? bhall@fbgrill.com

Thank you,

Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firebirds Wood Fired Grill also viewed

 

Been to Firebirds Wood Fired Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing