We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dim sum, accidental find on a vacation trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dim Sum Chinese Restaurant - CLOSED

Dim Sum Chinese Restaurant
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great dim sum, accidental find on a vacation trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our family was visiting Charlotte and I had an enormous craving for dim sum. Especially since the dim sum offerings in Pittsburgh leave quite a bit to be desired.

We stopped in on a weekday for lunch so that means that you can have dim sum if you want, but you have to order off a menu instead of picking off a steam cart. The steam cart and the delicious desserts are for the weekends only. Darn.

However, even though we had to order off the menu, everything ... and I mean EVERYTHING ... we ordered was delicious. Not one clunker amongst the bunch.

So, here's what we ordered:

Siu Mai (pork and shrimp dumplings, steamed)
Stuffed bean curd (fried tofu with shrimp)
Pork bun (steamed)
Sharkfin dumpling - perfect
Fried dumpling - also perfect
Spring roll (chicken) - yep, perfect
Sesame ball - my kids loved this

Again, everything we ordered was excellent and the service was quite attentive and cheerful. Our pre-tip total came to $32 for our family of 4.

I wish I lived closer to this little gem of a place. But for tourists who ended up here thanks to Yelp, this was a highlight for me on this trip!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    4
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dim Sum as Good as in Boston, New York or London!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We have lived in NY, & Boston and have been a fan of Dim Sum for almost 40 years! We have sampled it throughout the USA and in some foreign countries including Hong Kong (now part of China)...This restaurant has great dim sum... not greasy, not overcooked, great service, and a wide selection. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome and they are very accommodating. They serve dim sum all day, but also have a regular menu (however we have only tried a few items on their regular menu.... we go because of the dim sum :). They even celebrate Chinese New Year with a very cool performance (check with them for the date in February).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AEN524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Dim Sum from NYC to San Francisco!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Let me first say the ambiance is not spectacular but the food alone elicits 5 stars. I have eaten Dim Sum from NYC to San Francisco and the food at Dim Sum in Charlotte is amongst the best I have had anywhere. If you love authentic Chinese and are looking for a great place to go for Saturday or Sunday dim sum brunch this is it! It is a hidden treasure and I only wish they would open a 2nd location closer to lake norman. Worth the trip you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Infogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best dim sum in the area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We went here last weekend. Good variety and good prices. Definitely the best we have been able to find in the Carolinas.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaKimberly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Go there on Sunday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

The cuisine here is based on the traditional mild flavors of cantonese cooking. Go on Sundays for the real dim sum experience. Little carts will come to your table with delectable Chinese food.

Helpful?
Thank raquelrachel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dim Sum Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing