We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the old time atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pike's Old Fashioned Soda Shop

Pike's Old Fashioned Soda Shop
Ranked #427 of 2,340 Restaurants in Charlotte
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved the old time atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had lunch at Pike's and loved the atmosphere and the vintage details. The milkshakes were thick and delicious. I had the club sandwich and it was really big enough for two people and very yummy.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank I_L0ve_Travel_Too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    30
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
211 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

My daughter and I discovered this place by accident. Lo and behold it's a "famous" restaurant (used in a scene on Shallow Hal). Regardless of its stardom the prices don't reflect it.
Liked: Food and prices
Disliked: Everyone knows about it so you might have to wait.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chef D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Food is decent, soda shop is great.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Ate hear for Father's Day 2012 and dropped $85, including tip. Some things to avoid/ be aware of: You WILL be charged for refills other than soft drinks. I got lemonade and the waiter did not let me know when he asked me if I wanted a refill that I was going to be charged each time. This can add up. Also, my kids asked for honey mustard and Ranch, and I was charged $0.50 for each tiny little cup. Again, this was not disclosed by the waiter. My kids both had burgers, and my wife and I each ordered an entree. The food was decent, but I could've eaten at Outback and had a great steak for what I paid for at Pike's. Also, don't order an appetizer at Pike's because the servings are ample and you know you're going to get some kind of dessert.
Bottom line: Decent food/atmosphere, but you will get 'nickeled $ dimed' to death if you're not careful. If you're unsure, ask your waiter before you request something that is normally free at most restaurants.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, AL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cute place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

We went to Pike's for the Sunday brunch buffet, and were very pleased with our meal. We got there around 9, and the actual brunch wasn't served until 10, so we got the breakfast buffet. We were okay with that, though, because we only wanted breakfast food. There was a good selection of food- biscuits and gravy, muffins, fruit, eggs, bacon, sausage, hashbrown casserole, eggs benedict, etc. Everything was hot and well-prepared, but nothing to write home about. The hashbrown casserole was my favorite part. I believe it was $9 for the buffet, and it's definitely worth it if you plan to eat more than one plate. The atmosphere is so cute- you can eat inside or outside. The outside tables have umbrellas and they play great music. I loved my experience, and it's definitely worth a try.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Deserts and Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

I love the "chicken fantastic". It is just a good old fashion casserole, but it is wonderful. You can't pass up the float or homemade desserts. This is a flash back to the past.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank charlottenc96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pike's Old Fashioned Soda Shop also viewed

 

Been to Pike's Old Fashioned Soda Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing