We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fautless first time visit”
Review of 300 East

300 East
Reserve with OpenTable
300 East is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 2,374 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Dilworth
Cross street: Cleveland Avenue
Transit: 300 East is located 2 blocks east of the East/West Boulevard light rail stop.
Description: We are a neighborhood restaurant, family owned and operated, well into our third decade of serving locals and tourists alike. On the menu: American-Eclectic cuisine. Atmosphere: Warm and quirky with plenty of historic charm. Service: Friendly and casual. Specialties: Creative Sandwiches, Salads, and Entrees, Healthful Fare, Farm-To-Table, Sunday Brunch, Desserts.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fautless first time visit”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Old house ambiance in Dilworth is perfect and although it looked a busy Friday night we were seated immediately. There is a small but varied wine list from different countries offering good value. We had been grazing on hors d’oeuvres during a gallery tour so only ordered a main course and everyone enjoyed their choices, my hanger steak was excellent. The server was outstanding, we knocked over a glass of wine, broke the glass, pieces of which went into my friend’s entrée. The waitress had towels on hand in seconds, delivered a new wine glass complete with wine at no charge and had a new entrée to my friend in minutes - impressive. The entrees are the right size at the right price and excellent value, a rare exception in these days of overpriced mega portions. Absolutely going back .

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lotr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    101
    47
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“300 East is an Uptown Dining Delight!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

It had been a while since I had eaten at 300 East. I didn't really know how much I had missed it until today. Too many great choices, my sister and I both contemplated the Ahi Tuna salad. Our waiter Matt was engaging, attentive and gave advice about the specials but when he said the Ahi salad was his favorite that did it for both of us!!! He was totally on point. We both loved, loved this sumptuous salad. The trio of dressings was a real plus, even though Matt said the wasabi was too hot for him, it was hot but all things in moderation made this dish a real knock out of the park. Will definitely be back. Hope to try dinner soon. Thank you Matt and 300 East for a delicious dining delight!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jbeacham4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Evening”
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Opted out on handing out candy Halloween night for dinner at 300 East. Very pleasant old home that has been converted into a great restaurant. Wednesday must be half price wine by the bottle and made this night a real deal. The server was very cordial and well informed of the menu. Started with the Sweet Potato stuffed Ravioli that turned out to be excellent. The fish tacos and Salmon were our main dishes. Both were tasty. A delicious dessert topped off the evening.
Give this place a try for a great dinner for minimal dollars.

Helpful?
Thank Larry269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vinegrettes are fab and so is the food”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Quirky, but good food, salads and drinks. A neighborhood gem with lots of charm and personality. I am hooked on the homemade salad dressings, soups, and other specials.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quaint restaurant in an old house”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My friend and I ate here recently on a trip to Charlotte. 300 East is in an old house in a historic neighborhood. We were seated upstairs at a nice little table overlooking the outside. The food was great! We tried the sweet potato ravioli appetizer which sounded a little strange to me but turned out to be really good with a creamy sauce and walnuts sprinkled on top. Yum!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 300 East also viewed

 

Been to 300 East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing