We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got to be done”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #166 of 2,376 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Neighborhood: Montclaire South
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Got to be done”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Exactly as you would expect .. fill your boots! Service was excellent with guidance on choices for the new-comers. Local beers to wash down the plentiful quantities.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Euan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Euan M, thank you for the great review. We're glad to hear that you enjoy our BBQ and service. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    64
    20
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Churchville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Southern Comfort Food”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Try the beef brisket plate with the BBQ beans, fried okra and crinkle-cut fries. The fried catfish filet is over the top. We also had superb service from our server.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Barry H, thank you for the great feedback! We're glad to hear that you enjoy our beef brisket with BBQ beans. We appreciate your support and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Food was top notch”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have eaten at Sonny's in different states, this was out first trip to Charlotte, NC. and at this Sonny's. We ate there Monday, 28th. and our food was great, our waitress was just as awesome! We were tired and hungry and Sonny's hit the spot. Our waitress put smiles on our faces and showed us that Southern charm!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Rhonda G, thank you for the great 5 star review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our BBQ and service. We appreciate you choosing to stop by our restaurant and hope to see you again on your next trip out here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Southern Style Food”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch which was very good and food was served in a timely manner. Went back for that night for the ribs which were great. Not fancy to look at, but really good food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LC_968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
LC_968, thank you for the great review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our BBQ and service. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Barbecue, Good Value”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

A good casual place to get a barbecue dish and sides. Combo we ordered was about $8 and included pulled pork, fried okra, fries.
We were there later in the evening, but waiter was great about taking care of us. It's a step above fast food with sit-down dining and large screen televisions where we had no trouble watching sports.
I liked the four sauce selections offered, my favorite being the spicy-sweet. All seemed to be mustard based, which was fine with me.
I'd go back, food was good and price was a bargain.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NLJSpeedLogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
NLJSpeedLogo, thank you for the great review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your pulled pork meal with fried okra and fries. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again for more BBQ!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing