We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food”

The Original Pancake House
Ranked #19 of 2,351 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
183 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

First time eating at this location. Went on a Saturday around 10am and we were seated immediately. Both of us got eggs and bacon which comes with pancakes (or french toast with an upcharge as my friend got). Only negative was that the bacon was thick but a little bland. We'd never had bacon that really didnt taste like anything. Overall the food was good and I'd go back.

Helpful?
Thank RedLily1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    108
    24
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You won't leave hungry”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a popular breakfast restaurant (and they serve breakfast 24 hours a day). The omlets are especially huge. You can take half of it home and eat it for breakfast the next day. So be sure to bring a big appetite if you eat here. The best time to go and get an immediate seat is 6:30 - 8:00 weekdays and 7:00 - 8:00 on the weekends. The good news is this: They quickly turn over tables, so the wait is never very long. Very good omlets and pancakes!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ampalmer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Always worth the visit”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We love coming here for breakfast any time of the day. There might be a long wait sometimes, but its well worth it! Nice diner style atmosphere, with really friendly wait staff. Prices are reasonable.Haven't had anything on the menu yet, that I haven;t Loved!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everyone needs one of these in their town!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I live six hours from this restaurant, but, every time we pass through Charlotte, we make it a point to eat there (coming and going from the beach!). They never disappoint! Huge portions and yummy breakfast favorites, and combinations that you may only find if you do at home (pancakes with bacon crumbled up in them, sausage rolled up in pancakes, cream of wheat!). Always crowded when we hit there (between 10 and noon usually) and you may need to wait 15-30 minutes, but, you won't be disappointed! It is worth the wait and the drive. Convenient to I-77 traffic if you take the Tyvola Road exit (about 3-4 miles from there). Get off the exit and have a really good homestyle breakfast or lunch!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank formertravelagent224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but not Great”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

On weekends the line to get in this place is around the corner for hours! I went on a week day when there was a 10 min. wait. The food was good but not great. I'm glad I didn't wait in line for hours.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tourfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to The Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing