We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pancake Lovers Dream Come True”

The Original Pancake House
Ranked #24 of 2,389 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Pancake Lovers Dream Come True”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Disclaimer: I am a pathetic pancake addict. And these babies did NOT disappoint. I ordered the tropical version (can’t recall the name but something like “Bermuda Dream”), filled with toasted coconut, walnuts, pineapple, banana and --- of course --- drenched in maple syrup. Too, too good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank manasicaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    111
    24
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Neighborhood gem”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We got there on Sunday morning just before the wait for a table began. Nice, clean, almost slightly upscale diner. Service was excellent. Got my eggs perfect. Amazing pancake, crepe, dutch boy options. I will definitely go back here when I'm in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jjmsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auburnyellowrose
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food and Nice Service”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a limited amount of time as an entire family and we were able to have a great breakfast with my parents, my spouse, and my kids. The service was great as was the food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank auburnyellowrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Definitely try the chocolate chip pancakes or an omelet. Everything was great and the service was tremendous!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteveVT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A long wait but really worth it.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

They have the best free coffee while you wait. The eggs Benedict are my favorite. The boys really enjoy the pancakes. I don't really like pancakes but I do like the ones they make.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabethvevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to The Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing