We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth the wait.”

The Original Pancake House
Ranked #18 of 2,352 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Mill, SC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“worth the wait.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Always busy for brunch but solid quality and just what you're looking for on the weekend. The aroma of pancakes makes you super hungry as you walk through the door.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    109
    24
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Easier to get into than IHOP & more unique dishes!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Any kind of pancake you can imagine. The Dutch Apple one is huge, takes a long time to cook, served piping hot. I had it, but wouldn't recommend it because of the additional time it takes to cook it (baked in the oven) & it was just ok to me. But they have dones of other flavors to enjoy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheMFLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncks Corner, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Excellent food and great service. Every time our waitress came over she got a great smile on her face. The pancakes are the best I had, just a couple of dollars more than IHOP but it does beat them by taste. Our orange juice was fresh and the strawberries from by wife's pancakes fresh as well. Our food arrive with the time needed to prepare something fresh and not from frozen food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank papi2dmamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Becoming our favorite tradition when visiting charlotte”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

There will be a wait but it is so worth it. The menu is extensive and everything is fresh and cooked to order. We love the fresh strawberries and the strawberry syrup. The management and staff are top notch. Definitely worth the wait for a great weekend breakfast when visiting Charlotte.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travel2livewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better than iHop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We've been here many times, both the southpark location and the one uptown. Both places had great service and good food. Sure beats ihop but the prices are more expensive too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to The Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing