We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casual but great gluten and gluten free pizza! Also dog friendly”
Review of Fuel Pizza Cafe

Fuel Pizza Cafe
Ranked #881 of 2,374 Restaurants in Charlotte
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Casual but great gluten and gluten free pizza! Also dog friendly”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The pizza was awesome - its so nice to find such a convenient gluten free pizza place, whose menu is so widespread. Staff is friendly but not particularly proactive - we sat outside with our dog and the table was dirty and no one cleaned up. Napkins are in plastic cups on the tables and you have to get your own silverware and water refills. But for all that, it was fine because the gluten free pizza was delicious - ask for goat cheese on the pesto and sundried tomato one - yum!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ariana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good gluten-free pizza”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This chain (but different Charlotte location) is chosen by the Charlotte Celiac Connection for monthly get-togethers. Their gluten free pizza is pretty good; the thin crust is flexible, not crunchy or cardboard-y. I have had several of their varieties but my favorite is The Pyramid: roasted chicken, garlic, green peppers, spinach, mozzarella and romano cheeses laid over an awesome fresh tomato sauce. Non gluten-free husband likes their calzones and the Ultimate Pepperoni pizza. (BTW, gluten free pizzas are an additional $3.) This location (the original) is set in an old gas station and has a quirky atmosphere. They kept the garage bay door, which is sometimes open on hot days. :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WriterArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
302 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great place to stop. Very casual and friendly”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We've been to Fuel Pizza in downtown Charlotte and liked them a lot. So, we thought that we would give this one, which was on the outskirts, a try. Like the others, the decor is like an old time car garage, and the atmosphere is very very casual. You can choose available slices of pizza or have a pizza freshly made. The calzone and stromboli choices are many, and they are delicious. The staff at this place are among the friendliest we have ever met. A very positive feature was the parking lot in the back (free). The very casual atmosphere would probably be a turn off for people who like downtown Brixx, but the auto crowd (such as NASCAR fans) will be glad they stopped by.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cisco289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I'll be back !!!!!!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Was out doing some house hunting and decided to take a lunch break. Wanted something local and stumbled upon Fuel Pizza. We were greeted right when we walked in. Ordered and it was brought right out to our table quick. I thought I'd try their "famous" wings and they were awesome. My wife and I will hopefully find a house within walking distance of this gem to enjoy the great pizza and wings all the time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very tasty food”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

loud atmosphere, hard to talk, but food was served quickly and was good, reasonably priced, interesting decor - well worth the visit just to see how they have outfitted the place

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BethanyTraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuel Pizza Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Fuel Pizza Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing