We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite for Italian!”
Review of Mama Ricotta's

Mama Ricotta's
Reserve with OpenTable
Mama Ricotta's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 2,376 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Bus #6 from uptown stops directly across the street from the restaurant.
Description: From the Wine Spectator Award to "Best Italian Restaurant" from Zagat, Mama Ricotta's Italian Restaurant brings to life the award-winning vision of owner Frank Scibelli. With a long, proud reputation built on authentic recipes, made from the freshest of ingredients and prepared by the finest culinary minds in the South, Mama Ricotta's restaurant is the premier Italian dining destination in Charlotte. "Upscale homestyle" is our style, and we love to bring it to you, again and again. Begin your adventure with a warm Goat Cheese and Mascarpone Dip served with grilled crostini, and then move into the warm freshness of our Penne Alla Vodka, tossed in a spicy cream tomato sauce. Or, let the subtle flavors of our Pollo Carciofi delight even your most discriminating of tastes. Our commitment to freshness is one of our most valued traditions - we even house-make our mozzarella! With nearly two decades of success, we've made it our goal to bring you only the best, with our best.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A favorite for Italian!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great place. I often go for lunch as it is located just on the edge of downtown. Great food that can be pricey but is well worth it. High level of services always! Every day has a special pasta dish and calzones. Some special soups and sandwiches. Never had anything at this restaurant that was not fresh and delicious. I am a regular here and I love the food. Most recent visit was a Valentine's day lunch with my wife. We had a great time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAFriend1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    112
    41
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Birthday dinner”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was the first visit for my husband and me to Mama Ricotta's. This was for a birthday celebration and our party included two other individuals. Our visit was on a Friday evening. It was crowded, but we were seated almost immediately. The staff was friendly and courteous. The food was excellent... bread with olive oil & vinegar, calamari, lasagna and the spaghetti special with lobster. All of these were wonderful. The atmosphere was warm and inviting and prices are very reasonable.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rockstar1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
Level Contributor
376 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience.”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Saturday night dinner with 5 couples. It was Charlotte restaurant week and they were extremely busy. We had reservations at 8:15pm. Had to wait 45 minutes for two 6 tops to open up so they could accommodate us. No fault of the restaurant staff, the other guests were just taking a long time to leave their tables. The hostess staff kept us well informed on the reservation status. Met with Rachel and Matt in management and they encouraged us to stay and they did everything they could to get the tables put together for us. Peroni on tap helped to break up the delay. We all were very happy that we waited. Fantastic italian dishes, salads and pizzas. A good place for a large group. Levander was our server and he did a splendid job. Would definitely go back and try more selections. Overall it was a hit for us.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family Friendly Italian Food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Big portions, excellent variety, family style portions available. Reservations are a necessity even on week day nights.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IndianTrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good, Basic American-Style Italian Food”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you are in the mood for some Italian/American comfort food, Mama Ricotta's on King's Drive is a good choice. This place is family-friendly and serves up red-sauce classics alongside some other alternatives. Highly inventive it's not, but tasty and satisfying it is.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteTRAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Ricotta's also viewed

 

Been to Mama Ricotta's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing