We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best mexican food for the charlotte area”

Cabo's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #366 of 2,403 Restaurants in Charlotte
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best mexican food for the charlotte area”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We found this place when we moved to charlotte last year, and in our opinion this is the only restaurant that we really like for Mexican Food. My husband tries just about everything and hasnt had a bad meal. They do have excellent Guacamole too. Im a fajita eater don't care for the steak but love the chicken and the shrimp fajitas. Taking friends there saturday night!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Staci32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beats all of the other mexican restaraunts we have tried in the area. Very good.”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

If you happed upon this place and want good food... Give it a try!!! I had the Burrito California. The best burrito I have had in years. This is americanized Mexican at its best. I don't know what else to say. Good food, good service. Good value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RCS_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome little mexican/latin american restaurant”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place was formerly called Salsa's and has since expanded and been renamed Cabo's. It's got to be the best Mexican restaurant in Charlotte

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MLEEUNDERWOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible!!!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Ate lunch at Cabo's today with my wife and there will be no return trip. The food was bland in general and lacking taste. We each had a lunch combo (enchiladas, tacos) with ground beef. The meat had absolutely no flavor, the sauce tasted like it came out of a can at the supermarket, and the rice was dry and flavorless....We walked out very disappointed and still hungry as we did not finish our food. Stay away!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Deliciouso!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This place has great Mexican home cooking with American flair. It's run by the kids of the original owners, and they are doing a nice job. BTW if you have never had homemade tortillas, you will be in for a treat. Cabo's makes tortillas all day and night, and they are magnificent.They pull them hot off the griddle and serve 'em up. YUM, bring more!! Now I shudder when I have to buy them from the supermarket. I recommend that you go with several people and agree upfront to get several things to share, and be sure to try the specials or something different that you usually don't order. You will not be disappointed. My son, the vegetarian, got the Chilli Rellenos, and absolutely loved it. I got a grilled salmon dish, the special of the day, and it was just lovely - perfectly prepared. My daughter got a traditional Mexican platter with several items, and she enjoyed them very much. Their homemade pinto beans are just great. They serve several types of salsa. This is the real deal, folks. The place is not huge and it fills up on the weekends, so go early if you can...better yet, go on a weeknight. There is a coupon in the Citipass book, so if you are at all hesitant, use that coupon. But trust me, you'll like it, if it was anything at all like our experience! !Que bueno!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lalaland999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabo's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cabo's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing